Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: Incra Table Saw Fence

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    S E Washington State
    Posts
    3,777

    Incra Table Saw Fence

    Yesterday I watch some demo videos of the Incra table saw fence. WOW! Is that set up really as good as it looks? I was impressed, but that is what the video was suppose to do. Are they really that good? Almost $500.
    "We the People ......"

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Delton, Michigan
    Posts
    17,470
    paul those that have them love them,, vaughn will speak up on this i am sure he won one and after using it would have bought one.. i think brent has one as well.
    If in Doubt, Build it Stout!
    One hand washes the other!
    Don't put off today till tomorrow!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    S E Washington State
    Posts
    3,777
    Well if they are as good as the video, I'd start saving some money!
    "We the People ......"

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Inside the Beltway
    Posts
    2,666
    I absolutely adore mine. Worth every penny. Don't know how I ever got along without it. Once I had it, I also got the router table fence, and the miter gauge. I've been very happy ever since.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Tokyo Japan
    Posts
    15,806
    I'd love to have one, but I don't have the space, I do have the miter gauge, the router fence and the iBox jig, love them all, Incra makes great stuff!
    The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects it to change; the realist adjusts the sails.
    William Arthur Ward

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    ABQ NM
    Posts
    30,002
    Like Larry said, I won a TSIII jig (an older model) in a drawing at Sawmill Creek. I spent another couple hundred to buy the rails to go with it. I don't want to own another table saw without one. I can rip a board to 1 7/32" wide, remove the fence, put it back on, and know without a doubt that if I set the fence back to 1 7/32" (just using the scale on the fence) the next board I rip will match the first one, +/- a few thousandths of an inch. It's one of those tools I just simply trust to be right, each and every time. Same with my Incra miter gauge. I have never even checked it...my 90 and 45 cuts have always just come out exactly right.
    When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro. - Hunter S. Thompson
    When the weird get going, they start their own forum. - Vaughn McMillan

    workingwoods.com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    ABQ NM
    Posts
    30,002
    Oh, and I set up the router table on my table saw to the left of the blade, so I can just slide the jig down the rails and use the same fence for that, too. I have a shop-made router table fence that attaches to the Incra TS fence, which gives me dust collection and an adjustable gap between the two halves of the fence.
    When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro. - Hunter S. Thompson
    When the weird get going, they start their own forum. - Vaughn McMillan

    workingwoods.com

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    S E Washington State
    Posts
    3,777
    Reading over this thread, thanks for the input by the way, and the thread started on the miter gauges remindes me of a question. On every saw I have had, the tape that you affix to the rail to supposedly set you fence by is useless. It is no longer accurate even when you do something as minor as changing saw blades. On the Incra TS fence how difficult is it to reset things if you changes blades, or do you have to?

    Another comment, I see you have a choice of metric measurements or SAE on the fence. Darn I use both often, prefer metric and wish we would go to it, but why couldn't Incra make it switchable? It is not a case of one or the other in the U.S. it is getting to be more common to use both. I just couldn't decide to buy on or the other and I would not buy two fences.
    "We the People ......"

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Inside the Beltway
    Posts
    2,666
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Douglass View Post
    On every saw I have had, the tape that you affix to the rail to supposedly set you fence by is useless. It is no longer accurate even when you do something as minor as changing saw blades. On the Incra TS fence how difficult is it to reset things if you changes blades, or do you have to?

    Another comment, I see you have a choice of metric measurements or SAE on the fence. Darn I use both often, prefer metric and wish we would go to it, but why couldn't Incra make it switchable? It is not a case of one or the other in the U.S. it is getting to be more common to use both. I just couldn't decide to buy on or the other and I would not buy two fences.
    Paul,

    It's been a while since I set mine up, but if I remember right, there were a couple tapes: one metric, one SAE. I'd have to look, but there may even be two "tape slots." Maybe things have changed since then? At least when I'm using it with the router fence, I have a standard tape, and a "project tape," that I mark up with a pencil to keep myself from making a silly error. Of course, mine is at least five years old now, so I can't vouch for recent models.

    On the other hand, the tape is quite useful. I don't even measure anymore, I just set the distance to whatever I want, and cut. Yes, if I change blades, I have to reset... which is simply a matter of sliding the marked "tape" (actually a strip of half-rigid plastic) a little ways. Of course, that depends on your saw: mine's mounted to the right of the blade, and I think I've seen some people mount theirs to the left.

    Thanks,

    Bill

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Inside the Beltway
    Posts
    2,666
    Paul,

    I take it back. There are actually four:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	rtf_lspositioner_detail1_zoom.jpg 
Views:	28 
Size:	93.3 KB 
ID:	75318

    Blow that pic up, and look closely. Standard, metric, "project tape" (that's the one that reads 7A, 7B, etc.) and then the metallic looking rule, which I seldom actually look at. So you can work in both worlds, and still have a markable tape for individual projects. The three white tapes are writeable with a pencil. Now that I think about it, that's also where I keep track of resets for blade changes...

    Thanks,

    Bill
    Last edited by Bill Lantry; 04-24-2013 at 10:24 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. Incra TS Fence Owners
    By Paul Douglass in forum Jigs and Fixtures
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-07-2015, 02:02 AM
  2. Incra Router Table
    By Alex Reid in forum Flatwork Project Showcase
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 05-17-2012, 11:58 PM
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-08-2011, 04:34 AM
  4. SOLD: TABLE SAW FENCE - SHOP FOX CLASSIC (fence only)
    By scott spencer in forum Old Ads
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-12-2009, 05:18 PM
  5. FS: Incra Jig/Fence Package - SE MI
    By Doug Shepard in forum Old Ads
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-30-2008, 08:48 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •