Abother nice score today.

John Pollman

I picked up a pretty nice little antique dresser this afternoon. It just needs a little TLC and it will be ready to put back into service. Should bring a nice price when I'm done with it!

dresser.jpgdresser mirror.jpg

Made short work of that! :)

Worked on it a little bit last night, and a couple hours this morning and it's pretty much ready to go. The guy I got it from called it a dresser, which made sense. But it's got a tag on the back that says Forsyth Dining Room Furniture Co. Maybe it's some sort of sideboard, buffet, or something. Either way, it's a pretty nice looking piece. It's 38"w x 20"d x 34-1/2"h. I shouldn't have any trouble selling this piece!

dresser1.jpgForsyth tag.jpg

Is that what was called a "dry sink"? Your pitcher and bowl went on top of it.

Like that hutch/cabinet in the first picture behind it as well.

What do pieces like that go for in your neck of the woods???

I'm no expert, but I just listed the "dresser" on CL for $200. People buying things on CL always want to beat you down 20-30%. I figure it's probably worth a buck and a half. That china cabinet in back is one that I picked up OFF THE CURB last fall! I put a couple sets of hinges on it and I put it on CL for $600. Had a couple inquiries about it, but they were both "I'm overseas but I'll give you $50 more than asking price and send you a certified check. When it clears, my mover will come and take it". I replied to both with "NO THANKS". It needs a little touch up in a few places, but I don't want to mess with it. If those spots were touched up nicely, I think it could easily go for $800-$1000. I know you couldn't touch a piece like that for under three to four grand new! Here's a better shot of that one.

Base.jpgtop.jpgdetail.jpgchina cabinet.jpg

I agree with Darren. Came out looking great, John. You sure didn't waste any time getting it cleaned up, either. :thumb: