Vinyl Stair Rails

Darren Wright

Administrator
Staff member
We have a good friend that has been fighting cancer. This last round of treatments has been hard and he's been preparing for the end. He's gotten pretty weak from the treatments and recently fell in the yard.

Their front steps weren't done correctly and has a lack of railings. The first step is currently about 10" from the sidewalk, then 7" to the landing. Another friend and I are planning to go over and pour a new first step on the sidewalk, which will be about 3" high, but make the rest consistent in height/easier to climb. We're also planning to install some vinyl railing/hand rail on each side, posts will be anchored to the concrete.

Anyone used vinyl railing before?

Given that I've never worked with it before, I'm just wondering if it's stable enough for this application. There will the the two steps and the landing, which is 4' in depth itself, so a short side rail on each side of the steps connected to the hand rails.

We realize that he may not be able to use it much longer, but it was something they mentioned they wanted done, so we're pitching in where we can to help get things check off his list for him.

How hard would it be to make all three stairs the same height - 5 2/3" (assuming I got that right - 17" of total rise, three stairs..)? I ask because that would nominally be within code and more importantly variable height stairs are surprising to the foot so you're less likely to stumble on them if they are all the same. If you can possibly make them deep enough for a walker I'm pretty sure that would be huge as well. I'm guessing that to do that would require breaking concrete out for the current stairs which is why you aren't planning on doing that?

On your actual question - I've seen some vinyl railing with steel/aluminium inserts to stiffen it. Without that it is - imho - pretty noodly. With that its about as sturdy as the insert.