Right Tool for the Job?

Ian Brennen

Hi Guys. This is my first post and I am brand new to the forum and to woodworking. I keep finding myself working with wood and want to develop my knowledge and skill, so I thought I'd join the community. Thanks for bringing this forum to life. It's a great resource.

I would like to make a round wooden lid out of 5/8" wood for a small pot. I would like it to be 2-5/8" diameter (same as the pot so it sits on top) with 1/4" more cut away around the bottom half (so that the bottom of the lid sits snug in the jar mouth.) I have one for another jar, and I would like to replicate it almost exactly. I am linking pictures to that lid. You can see in the picture that the lid I have has a space cut out for a rubber gasket. I am not sure I will need to do that, but possibly.

I would appreciate any suggestions on the best tools for this project. I am not very experienced with most saws, routers, etc., but excited to learn.

I have access to a tool library in our neighborhood that has an awesome selection. Thanks in advance and again and happy to be here!

-Ian

100369xfx.jpg1003700.jpg

WELCOME to the forum. Glad you joined up. In my opinion the best tool for that job is a wood lathe. I suppose you could use the right size hole saws. It would put a hole in the middle from the drill bit, you would be able to patch that with a dowel. But for me the easiest would be the wood lathe.

Hang on though, there will be other pipe up that are a lot more experienced than me.

I'm like Paul; I saw the "sample" lid and immediately thought wood lathe!

Before I owned a lathe, I turned a couple of small items on my drill press by rigging up a vertical tool rest, etc. But that's certainly not ideal.