Hey guys, I'm new to wood turning, but recently turned my first bowl. I finished it with Salad bowl finish, which I've heard is vegetable oil?

So question is; what does everyone else use?

I want something food safe, but is vegetable / salad bowl finish it? Is bee's wax safe?

Well it depends :D

To start pretty much all of the finishes sold nowadays are food safe once cured.

Vegetable oil depends on the type of vegetable, some are a bit apt to go rancid and many don't provide a whole lot of protection. Walnut oil is pretty inoffensive except to people with nut allergies, they don't like it that much for obvious reasons :eek: I've used linseed and tung successfully as well. Beeswax by itself doesn't imho provide a lot of protection, its certainly foodsafe but it isn't super hard or resistant to use. A Carnuba wax blend is a bit tougher but still will get rubbed off in heavy use.

Tung is somewhat more water resistant than most other oils, I did a bunch of taster trays that see hard use in a brewpub and finished them with waterlox which is a tung oil based phenolic and they've stood up real well to a wet and rough environment. Some of the other oils like hardware store "boiled" linseed oil have metalic driers that some folks find objectionable, personally I don't see them as a real concern but you can certainly make up your own mind.

I know others here use wipe on poly or similar finishes, they have their ups and downs as well, but are pretty cost effective, easy to apply and survive fairly well in normal use.

For some pieces I use WoodTurners Finish, which is a water/oil urethane mix. It has a (possible) advantage of drying really clear and not coloring the wood much at all. Sometimes this is nice, other times.. not so much.