Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Working on live-edge walnut, have some questions

Post Working on live-edge walnut, have some questions

Hi guys,

I'm working on some walnut and have some questions. I'm new to wood working

1) I plan to use tung oil. Does anyone have any tips? How long should I leave it on before wiping off? Can I varnished over the oiled wood once dry or is there another step before varnishing?
    2) I plan to use a black wood filler to fill some knots on the surface. I purchased Probond max by Elmer's. Ebony color. Is this product any good and is it ok to use with tung oil?
    3) Can anyone recommend any varnish spray guns that don't require a compressor? Or do they all require one?
    4) I'm looking for the below protection finish. I am aware that is sugar maple and not wallnut. I'm looking for that shiny buffed finish. My question is what kind of varnish do I use and is that effect from buffing the sealed wood with a buffer?

I know that's a lot of questions, I just don;t want to mess up

Thanks in advance!
    Mike.

1. Are you talking about real, pure tung oil, or something like Minwax (or Formby's) "Tung Oil Finish"? If you're using real tung oil, it can take a long time (weeks) to fully cure enough to coat with another finish. If you're using the Minwax or Formby's product, there's really no need to apply varnish over it, since "Tung Oil Finish" is simply a wiping varnish that may or may not have a trace amount of tung oil in it. Keep in mind that neither real tung oil nor one of the "Tung Oil Finish" products lend themselves to spraying. They are both typically wiped on, then the excess is wiped off a few minutes later. I use Formby's Tung Oil Finish on a lot of my turned pieces. I typically only wait two or three minutes before wiping the excess away. (You want to wipe it up before it starts getting tacky.)

2. No experience with Probond, so I'll let someone else chime in on that one.