Console Table project, all from left over's

Bryan Cowing

I used a lower grade of walnut, lots of knots and sapwood to deal with. I built this for my DIL's birthday coming up on the 21st. I had just enough walnut left over from a xmas gift to build this table, but had to use some very light sapwood in the top. I stained the table with a 30 minute fast dry stain from ML Campbell to even the color out. Semigloss lacquer. Plan is from a Rodale book of 100 projects of country furniture I had got free with a WW subscription years ago.

Last edited:
Bryan,

I like the table! The finish turned out very nice :thumb:

I have a question though... When you made the legs on your lathe, how did you get them to come out all the same?

I'm sure that alot of people on here will think thats a dumb question, but I don't own a lathe and I have never used one before. Needless to say I don't know much about them... :dunno:

...I have a question though... When you made the legs on your lathe, how did you get them to come out all the same?

I'm sure that alot of people on here will think thats a dumb question, but I don't own a lathe and I have never used one before. Needless to say I don't know much about them... :dunno:
Not a dumb question at all.

Some guys make a paper or wooden pattern and use it as a reference (using calipers and such to transfer the dimensions from the pattern to the wood). Some of that is discussed in this thread.

Some guys use magazine editors as motivation to get it right. ;) :p

Bryan had a trick up his sleeve though, since he has a lathe duplicator.
There's a little discussion in this thread about it, but hopefully he'll post more pics and descriptions, since I don't know much about how duplicators work.

Bryan,

I like the table! The finish turned out very nice :thumb:

I have a question though... When you made the legs on your lathe, how did you get them to come out all the same?