Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: New Stanley planes

New Stanley planes

I want a Stanley #4, and I'm thinking of getting one of the new ones. I'm wondering if anyone has experience with the new models 12-204, 12-404, and 12-904. I don't need to know that they are not as good as a Lie-Nielson or Veritas which I can't afford, but I do want to know if they are a good value for the price, or should I continue to look for a used #4 at about the same price (<$60). I have a decent Canadian made knock-off #4, but I am a Stanley fan.

TIA
    Cheers,
    Roger

The other member of Mensa, but not the NRA

Everyone is a self-made person.

"The thing about quotes on the internet is that you cannot confirm their veracity" -Abraham Lincoln

I've no experience with the new Stanleys, but I do suggest you take a look at the new "WoodRivers" at Woodcraft. They've reworked earlier designs a bit, and are now on 'version 3' or 'V3'. They're really nice planes for not a lot of money, and like the Lie-Nielsons, are pretty much a clone of the old Stanley Bedrocks.
    Jim D.
    Adapt, Improvise, Overcome!

Roger, take a look at this write up on the new Stanleys by the guru himself Christopher Schwarz http://www.wkfinetools.com/contrib/c...wstanley-1.asp
    cheers

As you live over there and don't have to pay shipping like I do, I'd wait for a good used one, then replace the old blade with one of the new blade chip breaker combos and call it a day, an old bedrock tuned up with a new chipbreaker/blade combo might be as much as a new Stanley, but you will have a better tool, IMHO.
    The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects it to change; the realist adjusts the sails.
    William Arthur Ward