Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Contemplating an 8" jointer

Contemplating an 8" jointer

I have a decent older 6" delta rockwell jointer that I've been using for a few years now but I keep running into trouble when I try to join longer boards, so I was thinking it may be time to upgrade. I have been on the lookout for a decent used jointer, mainly a powermatic 60 but Im not having much luck unless I want to take a multiple day trip to get one. Then I was thinking maybe I should look at new ones. Grizzly isn't too far from me and it is getting close to Christmas, a post Christmas trip to grizzly sounds appealing. One of the reasons I was thinking I should look at new is to avoid warped, worn or drooping tables(especially site unseen on the internet), a parallelogram jointer would all but eliminate any issues now and in the future. Thoughts? I would like to stay under $1000 for new. I see some good looking models but I will wait till some others weigh in, I'm not dead set on grizzly either but from what I saw most others are in a whole nother price range.

I enjoy the long beds on the Grizzly G0490X but, if length is the problem and not width, you can save some money. Buy or build some better-quality work supports. Even really large jointers are still only so long. If you are jointing things in excess of six feet regularly, work supports will help more than a new machine. It is all about supporting your work through the entire path. Not that I'm one to talk someone out of a new tool . As to budget, I would be very hard pressed to go back to a knifed machine. There is plenty of data covering the lower cost of ownership despite the higher initial cost.
    Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.
    - Arthur C. Clarke

another vote for getting a helix head style jointer if you get new..
    If in Doubt, Build it Stout!
    One hand washes the other!
    Don't put off today till tomorrow!