Would it kill ya...

Roger Tulk

...to type out complete words? RAS, ROS, BTC, DNA, TS, TBC, CBA, WOP, PSI, LV, DP, RT, CNC, C&C, CBC, AGH! These 3LAs will be the death of me. Over the year or two I've been here, I've picked up most of these, but to somebody new to the forum, or even new to a particular section of the forum it looks as though we are speaking in code. Could we spell out the terms at least the first time we use them in a post, to give our neophytes and people like me with short memories a break!

Just sayin'

That was easy Ken, only 232 to commit to memory. Should have it all locked in by 2050.

Frankly I think Roger has a good point. We all know quite a few, but certainly not enough to avoid wondering what is being said on occasion. I frequently have to guess what the acronym means by context of the post.

I write instruction manuals for a living, so I'm required to spell out all acronyms the first time they're used in a document. With that in mind, I agree with Roger in general. There are a lot of acronyms used here that I think should at least be spelled out the first time they're used in a post, in my opinion. I mean seriously, how much faster is it to type WOP instead of wipe-on poly? (Although granted, WOP has become pretty common woodworking vernacular, but still, to a newbie, it can be confusing. Same with a lot of other common woodworking acronyms like ROS and RAS.) Spelling it out the first time can be immensely helpful to people who are new to the hobby.