Can I cut a 2x6 this way?

Zach Meissner

I'm new to the world of wood working and am currently building my first workbench.

I'm keeping detail work like drawers to a minimum with this one just so I can finish it.

I'm wondering if this is a 'acceptable' thing to do structure wise.

Here are my plans: The Green colored board is a 2x6 and is 78" long. I'd like to put 2 - 26" wide x 3.5" tall drawers (blue rectangles) in by cutting out 2 rectangles in the 2x6. The table surface is going to be an old door 84" long (has inset panels, so not a smooth surface) and then plywood for the work surface. So I think there is plenty of strength there. The 4 trusses under the surface are 24" 2x4, with 2- 1x4 pieces for the bottom of the drawers to slide on.
Workbench 3.jpg
Workbench 2.jpg

Btw, the dimensions need to be multiplied by 10. So 7.8" wide for the green 2x6 is really 78". This is because this is an online platform designed for small scale 3d printing. I just stumbled across it, very intuitive, just not to scale.

If you're feeling adventurous, head over to tinkercad.com and search Zach's Workbench. It's a really cool site, but not really for anything serious. Still learning sketchup...

Thanks for any advice!

Sure, it's acceptable to cut your drawer fronts in that way. It's done like that on many fine furniture tables.

There are several ways you could do it. The easiest way would be to rip the 2x6 into three strips, cut your drawer fronts out of the center strip, then glue the remaining pieces back together. You'll lose about a quarter inch of height that way due to the two ripsawn kerfs.

Another way would be to use a circular saw or a jigsaw and make plunge cuts through the 2x6. If you don't have a jigsaw, you could 'sneak up' on the corners with a circular saw, and finish the cuts with a hand saw. Lacking any power tools, you can still make the cuts with hand tools, but it'll be a lot of work.