Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Spanish Cedar Finish Problems?

Question Spanish Cedar Finish Problems?

I have Spanish Cedar bathroom cabinets. They were installed about 5 years ago. The cabinet shop used a stain, a glaze and then a lacquer spay on final finish.
    After about 1 year, the finish began to crackle in a few places, and slowly has covered most of the exposed areas.
    I do not know the source of the wood, or the moisture content.
    In one area, it appears that an area that does not get any sunlight does not have the issue. In addition, the inside on the doors also looks fine at this point.
    Some areas on the boxes have some hard wood plywood, and this finish is fine.

In addition, I used the same cabinets in a butlers pantry, where the sunlight is very low, if at all. Some areas have also begun to crackle.

Any suggestions? Should I strip the existing finish and try to refinish with a poly?
    Do I need to trash the cabinets and try another wood?

I am new to Family Woodworking, and looking for some help. Thanks! See the attached pictures.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails DSCN3839.jpg   DSCN3841.jpg   DSCN3842.jpg  

Randy, Welcome to the family. Glad you found us and I hope one of our finishing experts will chime in with some suggestions for you. I have about a hundred b/f of Spanish cedar out in the shop, but have only used it on small boxes and haven't put a finish on it. I do know it is prone to resin spots and it's possible that the same natural oils that work to form the resin spots have messed with your finish. Sorry I can't be of any more help.

i would get in touch with the cabinet maker and see what they say, i have seen the cracking before on another cabinet but it was with precat lacquer and that person isnt here at the moment to ask his situation..
    If in Doubt, Build it Stout!
    One hand washes the other!
    Don't put off today till tomorrow!