Thread: Had to laugh...

Placitas, NM in the foothills of the Sandia Mt

Had to laugh...

Here's a clip from an ad in the Albuquerque Craigslist, emphasis is mine:

"Sears Craftsman 10" table saw. Sturdy on 4 legs, 2 extender sides included. Solid construction. Only seen light use....mostly cut cardboard. Works great. "

I wonder if it could cut wood, too?
    Don't believe everything you think!

Whats so funny about this?

Actually I am just making a point here. As a woodworker I understand why people would laugh at this, but the truth is we have a nice 3hp delta at work that only cuts cardboard and the occassional hardboard. It does so because we use a lot of templates to make boats (darn compound curves).

Surprisingly, we have another machine that works great for cutting plywood. Its a shear designed to cut 1/2 inch stainless steel plate. The thing has a gillotine that comes down and with cut plywood just as well as steel plate. If I had a carpentry business or a cabinet shop I would have one of these machines. Pad the hold downs, and you could shear out a whole set of cabinets by the time you made one cut with a tablesaw, not to mention manuevering sheets around on a tablesaw and having to hold it tight against the fence is a pain.

Of course I say this without having a business, and without having to come up with the payment for one of these beastly machines.
    I have no intention of traveling from birth to the grave in a manicured and well preserved body; but rather I will skid in sideways, totally beat up, completely worn out, utterly exhausted and jump off my tractor and loudly yell, "Wow, this is what it took to feed a nation!"

I see plywood shears in the LARGE cabinet shops here in Japan all the time, they are fast and cut well, but EXPENSIVE.

Used ones in decent condition for for $10,000 plus

Cheers!
    The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects it to change; the realist adjusts the sails.
    William Arthur Ward