Tenon vs. Loose Tenon

Sean Wright

I have never used loose tenon joinery before.

Is there any advantage to loose tenon joinery over traditional tenons? I know with the new Domino tool, loose tenons seem to be becoming more popular.

I hope this doesn't start an arguement :dunno:

I have never used loose tenon joinery before.

Is there any advantage to loose tenon joinery over traditional tenons? I know with the new Domino tool, loose tenons seem to be becoming more popular.

I hope this doesn't start an arguement :dunno:

Hey Sean,
Here's my two cents.... Loose tenons are not quite as strong as integral tenons, but still very strong, and adequate for most furniture projects. The great thing about loose tenons is that once you get your machinery set up, you can easily run enough tenon stock for many, many projects. Then all you have to do is route the mortises and cut off the amount of stock you need. With an integral tenon, you are creating each tenon individually - I usually make them a little large and 'sneak up' on a tight fit. And that's a lot more work. I use both methods.

I guess one thing that bugs me a little is that all the work that went into fitting the integral tenon is never (if you did it right) visible once the project is glued up. So, in my opinion, in most cases an integral tenon doesn't add any perceived value, unlike say handcut dovetails the customer will see and appreciate.

And if you started an argument, thats fine. We enjoy a heated discussion about wood, just leave the politics out of it.:thumb: