Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Rigid Belt Osc sander

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    GTA Ontario Canada
    Posts
    12,258

    Rigid Belt Osc sander

    Given a few here have this Rigid Sander, i was wondering if anyone has had issues with the unit starting up. Mine sometimes does not get going until i do the hand helping thing. Its as if a start capacitor is faulty. BUt i also see this unit has a start relay of sorts.

    Anyone had a problem like this with theirs. I shudder to think of trying to get Rigid to fix this in Canada. May be a easier path just to fix it myself.

    Thought i would check see if anyone has had the same problem and if so what the fix was. Thanks
    cheers

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    No, not all of SoCal is Los Angeles!
    Posts
    9,076
    How's your dust collection on that thing Rob? I worked mine hard for years but, always had dust collection hooked up. When I had it serviced for a shudder in the drive the guy asked me if I ever used it ;-) I had made the common mod to the collection to improve it.

    It is easy to get in there and blow the heck out of the motor and drive. I'll cross my fingers for an easy fix
    Last edited by glenn bradley; 04-15-2014 at 09:35 PM. Reason: sp
    Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.
    - Arthur C. Clarke

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Oceanside, So. Calif. 5 mi. to the ocean
    Posts
    4,944
    I have had no problems,

    Enjoy,
    JimB
    First of all you have to be smarter than the machine.
    VOTING MEMBER

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Amherst, New Hampshire
    Posts
    10,604
    no problems here.
    Faith, Hope & Charity

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Bedford, NH
    Posts
    1,683
    Nope, starts up every time the switch is flipped. Shuts off as well too!
    Thoughts entering one's mind need not exit one's mouth!
    As I age my memory fades .... and that's a load off my mind!

    "We Live In The Land Of The Free, Only Because Of The Brave"
    “The problems we face today are there because the people who work for a living are outnumbered by those who vote for a living."
    "
    Socialism is a philosophy of failure, the creed of ignorance, and the gospel of envy, its inherent virtue is the equal sharing of misery." Winston Churchill

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    GTA Ontario Canada
    Posts
    12,258
    Quote Originally Posted by glenn bradley View Post
    How's your dust collection on that thing Rob? I worked mine hard for years but, always had dust collection hooked up. When I had it serviced for a shudder in the drive the guy asked me if I ever used it ;-) I had made the common mod to the collection to improve it.

    It is easy to get in there and blow the heck out of the motor and drive. I'll cross my fingers for an easy fix
    Thanks Glenn but I have not been able to use it enough to make enough dust to clog it up. Mine started doing this right from the beginning. Thing is i thought it was the power in this house. BUt for winter i moved it indoors and it did the same thing.

    Have not been able to find anything about this on the web even on the rigid forum not to say my searching is the best. Will get stuck into it on the weekend and take a look inside just in case. Then i think i will spring for one of the start relays and shotgun fix it which will be quicker and less aggro than trying to get rigid here to do something.
    cheers

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    No, not all of SoCal is Los Angeles!
    Posts
    9,076
    Bummer. Nothing beats trouble with a new tool. This sounds like a DOA defect to me. Is the Ridgid service really that bad on your side of the line? I see the unit must be shipped to a service center but, the unit is only 40lbs. It might be worth it to not have a tool that you look at sideways every time you use it. They will most likely NOT honor the warranty if the unit has been tampered with (that is if they can tell).
    Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.
    - Arthur C. Clarke

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    S E Washington State
    Posts
    3,777
    I think you should give Ridgid a chance to make it right. I don't know exactly which sander you are talking about. I just purchased their spindle/belt sander. Is that the one? I haven't even plugged mine in yet.
    "We the People ......"

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    GTA Ontario Canada
    Posts
    12,258
    Tracked down receipt and a local service place that will do the repairs on site so taking unit in to have them look at it under warranty. Will report back. Hold thumbs.
    cheers

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    WNY, Buffalo Area
    Posts
    873

    Rigid Belt Osc sander

    No problems with mine.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    We create with our hands in wood what our mind sees in thought.
    Disclosure: Formerly was a part-time sales person & instructor at WoodCraft in Buffalo, NY.
    www.tinyurl.com/thewoodshoppe

Similar Threads

  1. Good Deal on Rigid Belt Sander
    By John Marking in forum New Tools
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-06-2011, 02:22 AM
  2. Belt Sander or Orbital Sander
    By Dawson Mossman in forum New Tools
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 09-18-2009, 01:03 AM
  3. Rigid Osc Belt Sander
    By Rob Keeble in forum New Tools
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 09-28-2008, 07:31 PM
  4. Belt Sander vs a Drum (thickness) Sander
    By Ken Close in forum New Tools
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11-26-2007, 01:36 PM
  5. Grinder or belt sander?
    By Wes Billups in forum New Tools
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-30-2007, 07:41 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •