Hello from WNC

Josh Wolff

Hello. My name is Josh, and I have exactly zero experience with woodworking. I have some experience in construction, and I spent several years as a professional tile-man setting all kinds of awesome tile for moderately rich people before the Great Depression of '08 kicked my feet out from under me along with about half of the construction industry. :)

Having recently re-discovered a passion for making useful stuff (after years of riding a desk) during a Master Bath remodel, I started tearing into my Honey-do list.

Until I got to: build a picnic table. Apparently my wife found a picnic table on Pinterest that has beer-cooler tubs built into it, and she just has to have one. God bless Pinterest, btw. This ain't yo momma's window-shopping.

Now, until a couple months ago, I had always viewed woodworking with approximately the same attitude that my kids might have watching a magic show: with wonder and amazement, and absolutely no idea what in the world is going on. And like a kid at a magic show I didn't really want to how the magic happens.

But now, as a result of doing research for this picnic table project, I do. I am excited to be starting down a path that I hope will:

1.) Provide a virtually limitless supply of new skills to learn

2.) Allow me an outlet for the productive drive that I haven't had since laying tile

3.) let me build cool stuff.

4.) ... and over time, force me to buy a bunch of cool new toys that I can't afford. :)

I have some experience using this style of forum, and I can work a search function pretty well, but I hope you will forgive me if I ask a dumb question from time to time. I spent an hour earlier tonight looking at a "mallet swap" thread and trying to figure out what the heck a mallet was for.

Anyway, if anyone is still reading... well, that's it. I guess I'm done. Thanks in advance for letting me take advantage of your knowledge and experience.