Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: band saw blade advice sought

band saw blade advice sought

I'm looking for suggestions for BS blades. Not the premium ones that sell for $30. I'm looking for the best value/use item. I also don't want to invest that much in a blade that can be trashed in a moment by a twisted cut.

An article in FWW some time ago recommended BCSaw.com, but I've no experience with their blades. I've had good luck with Hartville tools blades. Because I have a nice old PM 141, I need 95" blades, which some of the standard dealers don't carry.

Suggestions welcome.

Might be a bit off the wall here Ken, but have you ever considered buying a roll of blade, and making your own?

Sometimes you can find a deal on Ebay etc. of the right sized blade, in a roll, a simple jig, a propane gas torch and some silver solder and you are in business.

Just a thought.

Cheers!
    The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects it to change; the realist adjusts the sails.
    William Arthur Ward

Good suggestion Stu, but not the direction I want to go with materials, supplies and the learning curve til I get a perfect weld. Thanks anyway.
    Ken

Highland Woodworking is a good source.

http://www.highlandwoodworking.com/i...S&Category=294

Very good customer service too.

ken i buy my disposa-blades from ellis mfg. in wisc. they have a minimum order and i don`t remember what it is? but a dozen blades covers it...their phone number is 800-383-5547.......know your tooth geometry when you order....i always buy 4 hook and they stock them in 1/2 and 1/4....tod
    [SIZE="1"] associated with several importers and manufacturers.[/SIZE]