band saw blade advice sought

ken werner

I'm looking for suggestions for BS blades. Not the premium ones that sell for $30. I'm looking for the best value/use item. I also don't want to invest that much in a blade that can be trashed in a moment by a twisted cut.

An article in FWW some time ago recommended BCSaw.com, but I've no experience with their blades. I've had good luck with Hartville tools blades. Because I have a nice old PM 141, I need 95" blades, which some of the standard dealers don't carry.

Suggestions welcome.

Might be a bit off the wall here Ken, but have you ever considered buying a roll of blade, and making your own?

Sometimes you can find a deal on Ebay etc. of the right sized blade, in a roll, a simple jig, a propane gas torch and some silver solder and you are in business.

Just a thought.

Cheers!

ken i buy my disposa-blades from ellis mfg. in wisc. they have a minimum order and i don`t remember what it is? but a dozen blades covers it...their phone number is 800-383-5547.......know your tooth geometry when you order....i always buy 4 hook and they stock them in 1/2 and 1/4....tod

I'd suggest Suffolk Machinery. Good blades, and their prices are more in the $17 - $25 range for the size you want. They're also pretty good about helping you decide which blade is best for your intended purpose. They'll make the blade to your lenght specs if they don;t already have it in stock. I've been real happy with their products.

Note, however, that their blades don't cut rock very well. :p I toasted a blade a few nights ago cutting a piece of madrone burl that had a rock imbedded in it. By the time I realized I was hitting something, the blade was shot. (It burned on a straight cut through pine afterwards.)