Finishing Teak Table with Tung Oil

Hi all,
Looking forward to getting some of your expert opinions as I am a newbie and at a loss for how to make my table the beauty that I know it can be.

Here's the story: I bought a lovely vintage, Danish-made teak table at ReStore. The finish was slightly shiny and I believe it was oil or wax because of the way it was balling at the edges. Also it would come off when a wet cloth was left on it (oops!).
I took it down to the wood and then did 10 layers of pure tung oil using 0000 steel wool in between. Currently it is dry, very matte looking and feels very grainy. So...Its not exactly where I thought it would be since I had thought 6 layers would be sufficient.

My questions:
What am i doing wrong?
How should the finished table look and feel?
How many layers will it need? More than 10?!

I know that another finish (like varathane) would be sacrilege so I am dedicated to figuring out this tung oil thing. Any advice/opinions would be very welcome as I have scoured the internet and found little.

Thanks!

kate

Hi kate and welcome.
When i took a class with sam maloof he showed us 2 finishes. One was a combination pure tung oil boiled linseed oil an wax in equal parts. The second was tung oil linseed and wipe on poly again in equal parts. he said the wax mixture was to soft for table tops and said he used the poly mix. He said he would do two coats per day for 5 days letting the finish dry for two days between coats. I have followed this schedule ever since.
I am sure others will chime in with their favorite finish.

Hi Kate and welcome aboard. Glad you found us. I'm not an expert. My few tung oil projects have dried to a smooth satin finish with a couple of days in between coats. Never done more than six coats. Some pictures of your finish might help assess what's going on. What were your expectations? Smooth satin, glossy??

Thanks for your comments. What an awesome little community you have on here.

I hope the attachments work.