Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Wifi router trouble

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Kansas City, Missouri
    Posts
    13,448

    Wifi router trouble

    This is probably more of a first world problem, but I've been seeing more and and more internet connection issues over the past couple of months at home. This past week it got to the point my connection up at the shop was pretty much non-working. I spent a few nights last week doing trouble shooting, changing settings, and was able to get it to work temporarily.

    I finally decided that my wifi router at the house was the culprit. When I purchased it about 3 years ago, it nearly doubled my download speed, with it's large 300 MHz processor. Well over the last 3 years we've added several devices in our house that use wifi. What I finally determined after turning many of those devices off, is that the cpu was getting maxed out on the router as it was stable when only a couple were turned on and using wifi.

    So late last week I ordered a new router. The new one has a 1 Ghz dual processor, quite a bit more speed than the old one, this made a huge difference. Prior we were only getting about 24 Mbps download, that speed has more than doubled my download speed, sometimes getting up to 75 Mbps download on the same cable connection/box.

    I'm not posting this to brag, was just an eye opener of what adding a new device here and there was doing to my network infrastructure.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 4108641803.png  
    Darren

    To a small child, the perfect granddad is unafraid of big dogs and fierce storms but absolutely terrified of the word “boo.” – Robert Brault

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Spitting distance north of Detroit Michigan
    Posts
    3,798

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot from 2015-02-01 22:19:53.jpeg 
Views:	19 
Size:	19.9 KB 
ID:	88944

    My prehistoric Linksys WRT54G router finally bit the dust yesterday...been having problems losing Synergy and all connections, on & off for a week or so...gave up the router and the windows pc, and ended up using a VM inside Linux to keep using my old apps that linux wouldn't accept even using wine....the results above are from an old Slipstream 4100 modem...guess it's time to start looking for an upgrade.

    Cool that you figured out the problem before throwing money at it, as so many often do...
    The perception of perfection is perfectly clear to everyone else

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    GTA Ontario Canada
    Posts
    12,256
    The one tech item i have sympathies with is the wireless router. We have come to think of this almost like hardwire substitute yet very few have any idea of the complexity of what its got to do in RF terms.
    Its really nothing short of amazing i never ever imagined we would be able to engineer an rf transciever capable of what these devices are doing today.
    I have tried to no avail to explain to my family the concept that each device divides the bandwidth available but they dont wish to hear so they think pulling power out and "resetting" will fix it (duh). Some just dont want to hear what they dont want to hear.lol.
    That new router must be really great. But this issue is one of the reasons i still try hardwire my computers in my office.
    I wonder how many people still have old network cards too limiting their network speed while they hooked up to high speed service providers.

    Sent from my SGH-I337M using Tapatalk
    cheers

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Tellico Plains, Tennessee
    Posts
    4,352
    Quote Originally Posted by Ken Cook View Post

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot from 2015-02-01 22:19:53.jpeg 
Views:	19 
Size:	19.9 KB 
ID:	88944

    My prehistoric Linksys WRT54G router finally bit the dust yesterday...been having problems losing Synergy and all connections, on & off for a week or so...gave up the router and the windows pc, and ended up using a VM inside Linux to keep using my old apps that linux wouldn't accept even using wine....the results above are from an old Slipstream 4100 modem...guess it's time to start looking for an upgrade.

    Cool that you figured out the problem before throwing money at it, as so many often do...
    I suprised that Linux wouldn't accept wine... I thought everyone would accept wine.
    Chuck
    Tellico Plains, TN
    https://www.etsy.com/shop/TellicoTurnings
    My parents taught me to respect my elders, but it's getting harder and harder to find any.
    If you go looking for trouble, it will usually find you.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Kansas City, Missouri
    Posts
    13,448
    Quote Originally Posted by Rob Keeble View Post
    That new router must be really great. But this issue is one of the reasons i still try hardwire my computers in my office.
    They are incredible devices, which as I mentioned, I hadn't thought much about until needing to replace the old one. I think the stability of the device has made it possible to cut that cord, which it's funny you mention "the office", as that is becoming less and less common in the home and in businesses for that matter. What we've had as our dedicated office at home is planned to be consolidated down to a file cabinet in the closetOutside of a few paper bills I still get, most of my information is digital. I still keep bank statements coming in paper form, but all other bills I've converted to digital and store them that way. As for working, I tend to take my laptop where I feel most comfortable working rather than being confined to a single room.

    I do still hard wire a few devices, such as the IP cameras and have one of the gaming systems wired in for the streaming. I tested out wired vs. wifi on the new router and speed checks came out the same, though I'll consider what I'm wiring vs. doing wifi from this point on based on what I learned.
    Darren

    To a small child, the perfect granddad is unafraid of big dogs and fierce storms but absolutely terrified of the word “boo.” – Robert Brault

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    No, not all of SoCal is Los Angeles!
    Posts
    9,076
    Wait . . . what? Technology changes over time!?! What am I gonna do with my 3" diagonal, black and white, battery operated, 8 pound 'portable' TV???

    Seriously, glad you got things up to speed (pun intended).
    Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.
    - Arthur C. Clarke

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    ABQ NM
    Posts
    30,017
    Quote Originally Posted by Darren Wright View Post
    ...The new one has a 1 Ghz dual processor, quite a bit more speed than the old one, this made a huge difference...
    Pretty amazing that the routers we have in our home networks have more computing power than was used to put men on the moon. Heck, our phones have more power, too.

    http://www.computerweekly.com/featur...an-on-the-moon
    When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro. - Hunter S. Thompson
    When the weird get going, they start their own forum. - Vaughn McMillan

    workingwoods.com

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    ABQ NM
    Posts
    30,017
    Quote Originally Posted by glenn bradley View Post
    Wait . . . what? Technology changes over time!?! What am I gonna do with my 3" diagonal, black and white, battery operated, 8 pound 'portable' TV???...
    Here's one approach...

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_8g76nNWb1Q
    When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro. - Hunter S. Thompson
    When the weird get going, they start their own forum. - Vaughn McMillan

    workingwoods.com

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Independence MO
    Posts
    561
    I am getting ready to pull my WRT54G. It has DD-WRT on it and still works fine, but the cable company has been calling me, telling me to upgrade my cable modem. (on my second one, first one gave me years) They are telling me that my current one is EOL and I will gain a good bit of speed with the new one (already bought when found an open box DOCIS 3.0 one). So I am upgrading the wireless since I have more then one N item, but will keep the Linksys as both a hardwired, and maybe to talk to my Raspberry PI stuff (none of it is N).

    I was really tempted to build an Atom based system, running Smoothwall Linux as the firewall, but it was more cost effective when the NAT box came on sale. I tend to overbuy a bit on tech, so I get longer lifespan.

Similar Threads

  1. Wifi Channels
    By Darren Wright in forum Off Topic Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-25-2013, 03:00 PM
  2. I'm in trouble now..
    By Richard Leshner in forum Off Topic Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-19-2010, 01:21 AM
  3. I'm in trouble now !!
    By Drew Watson in forum Off Topic Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-19-2010, 01:27 PM
  4. I'll be in trouble but...................
    By Tom Niemi in forum Off Topic Discussion
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: 09-22-2009, 11:21 AM
  5. Trouble with
    By Steve Clardy in forum Site Questions and Test Posts
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-23-2006, 07:35 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •