Thread: Joint Cam

Joint Cam

Anyone used this cam software for doing dovetails?

http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html
    Darren

To a small child, the perfect granddad is unafraid of big dogs and fierce storms but absolutely terrified of the word “boo.” – Robert Brault

I am not a CNC expert, but I don't recall seeing CNC machines that allow a board to be mounted vertically. I can imagine building a vise like clamp on the end of the table, but will the gantry go beyond the table to cut the vertically mounted boards?
    Charlie Plesums, Austin Texas
    (Retired early to become a custom furnituremaker)
    Lots of my free advice at www.solowoodworker.com

Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Plesums View Post
    I am not a CNC expert, but I don't recall seeing CNC machines that allow a board to be mounted vertically. I can imagine building a vise like clamp on the end of the table, but will the gantry go beyond the table to cut the vertically mounted boards?
    The spindle on mine is setup where it extends past the end of the table by about 4" - 6". I could probably add a spacer between the mount and Z axis to get a few more inches if needed, which is probably what other owners may have to do. However, with the way everyone is building their own cnc machines, one could build a machine specific to this purpose also.
    Darren

To a small child, the perfect granddad is unafraid of big dogs and fierce storms but absolutely terrified of the word “boo.” – Robert Brault

Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Plesums View Post
    I built mine with the overhang in mind, too - i can hold up to about 40" boards and reach their ends pretty easy.

Darren, I haven't seen this before - i'll take a look, for sure
    Jason Beam
    Sacramento, CA

Definately putting that on the must try list.

Mounting a board vertically is something to be planned into the machine design