Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: homemade dust collection?

homemade dust collection?

hey all, First post here so be gentle I'm a middle school teacher looking at retirement in the next couple of years (and we just had a baby boy 2 months ago)...So, I'm wanting to start supplementing income with some projects and eventually going "fulltime" when I retire. My shop is functional for short projects but the dust is starting to get to me. Does anyone have any advice on a CHEAP homemade dust collection system?

Yorktown, Virginia
    Brock...Welcome aboard. Glad you found us. Do you have a shop vac? If so, you might check out the Thien baffle. I haven't made one, but am thinking about it. I just might go the commercial route and get an Oneida Dust Deputy instead. Anyways, check out the Thein baffle here:

Amherst, New Hampshire
    Hi Brock !!!

My wife is a middle school english and social studies teacher. I feel very sorry for you too and I also understand your budget

My dust collector is the Harbor Frieght model

Tons of guys here and elsewhere use it. It can be beefed up a bit. Maybe Vaughn can find his HF build and post it for you.
    The HF Dc is often on sale for under $160.
    Faith, Hope & Charity

Thomasville, GA
    Welcome to our Family, Brock.

I started with a DC similar to Bob and it worked fine. I have a much bigger system now, but you have to start somewhere.
    Bill Arnold
    Citizen of Texas residing in Georgia.
    NRA Life Member
    Member of Mensa
    Live every day like it's your last, but don't forget to stop and smell the roses.

ABQ NM
    Welcome to the clubhouse, Brock. Any DC is generally better than none, but as often happens, the more you spend, the better the setup. Like a lot of guys, I started with a shop vac, but before too long I went with the Harbor Freight "2 hp" model and did a few easy mods to it. Things you can do to beef up the Harbor Freight DC: