Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Need Computer Help

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    S E Washington State
    Posts
    3,777

    Need Computer Help

    I have started experiencing connect problem with my computer. I have a wireless router, a dish to receive my internet service. This last week my connection keeps dropping. Like every few minutes. I see the bars on my tool bar indicating I have a connection, but the computer just goes like it was download a site and taking for ever. Than I get a little yellow triangle come up on the bars with an "!" in it. Wait about 30 seconds and that goes away and I'm good to go for a few more minutes.

    Could it be my router is dying?

    I have another router that was given me. I have the pass words for it, can I just unplug mine and plug this one into the system and sign on to it? Or do I have to go through a process of registering it with my system or something?

    I'm a dummy...
    "We the People ......"

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    ABQ NM
    Posts
    30,020
    Paul, I think you should be able to just plug in the new router and go. Some of the other networking-savvy guys around here should be able to confirm that.
    When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro. - Hunter S. Thompson
    When the weird get going, they start their own forum. - Vaughn McMillan

    workingwoods.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Yorktown, Virginia
    Posts
    5,022
    Paul,
    Are you in a position where you could hard wire into your router. My wife's computer was doing the same thing and driving us nuts. I hard wired it to the router and voila, problem solved. I suspect her wifi adapter went bad. Just a thought. Don't know squat about computers.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Reno NV
    Posts
    13,364
    Check this thread out. Don was having some issues.

    http://familywoodworking.org/forums/...m-for-ya-Fixed

    He as able to fix it by changing the channel his wifi was using.

    You might be able to just plug and play the other router, but there might be some setup you'd have to go through as well.

    Would be worth a shot going hardwired into the current router to see if it might just be the wifi.
    Programmer - An organism that turns coffee into software.
    If all your friends are exactly like you, What an un-interesting life it must be.
    "A door is what a dog is perpetually on the wrong side of" Ogden Nash


  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Kansas City, Missouri
    Posts
    13,464
    That sure sounds like it going bad, do as others suggest, if that doesn't work, try testing it connected directly to your dish by moving the cable that connects to the dish to the router to connect from the dish to your computer directly. Report back and we'll go from there.
    Darren

    To a small child, the perfect granddad is unafraid of big dogs and fierce storms but absolutely terrified of the word “boo.” – Robert Brault

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    S E Washington State
    Posts
    3,777
    Okay, got brave and hooked up the other router. Simple all I had to do was log into it. Not sure it fixed the problem, but I will see.
    "We the People ......"

Similar Threads

  1. Need some computer help.
    By Tom Baugues in forum Off Topic Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-13-2014, 09:33 PM
  2. New Computer
    By Paul Douglass in forum Off Topic Discussion
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 02-27-2013, 12:05 AM
  3. Computer help
    By Al killian in forum Off Topic Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-12-2012, 03:48 AM
  4. Got the new computer
    By Jeff Horton in forum Off Topic Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-06-2009, 12:16 PM
  5. Computer help
    By Stuart Ablett in forum Off Topic Discussion
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12-28-2006, 05:50 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •