Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: How do you have your electronics organized?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Reno NV
    Posts
    13,360

    How do you have your electronics organized?

    Anyone care to share how they have the power supplies and controllers organized, as well as how you have your cables routed?

    I've got 2 power supplies, and a control board I need to organize. I think I have some ideas for how to route all the cables.

    but just wanted to get any ideas.
    Programmer - An organism that turns coffee into software.
    If all your friends are exactly like you, What an un-interesting life it must be.
    "A door is what a dog is perpetually on the wrong side of" Ogden Nash


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    East Freeetown, Massachusetts
    Posts
    3,019
    I've been through a few variations. From kaos to a little less kaos.

    I do use wire ties.

    I just built a couple of enclosures recently, in an attempt to get things out of the dust.

    I'll get a pic or two sometime today.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Thomasville, GA
    Posts
    5,992
    Since I built my SO2 on a shelf, I built a plywood box to hold the electronics on the wall above my machine. My four power supplies are mounted on a shelf under the cnc.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	CNC_Bld_0020d.jpg 
Views:	23 
Size:	48.4 KB 
ID:	92827Click image for larger version. 

Name:	CNC_Bld_0020c.jpg 
Views:	23 
Size:	74.5 KB 
ID:	92828Click image for larger version. 

Name:	CNC_Bld_0021d.jpg 
Views:	21 
Size:	57.7 KB 
ID:	92831

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	CNC_Bld_0020a.jpg 
Views:	20 
Size:	66.0 KB 
ID:	92830
    Bill Arnold
    Citizen of Texas residing in Georgia.
    NRA Life Member and Member of Mensa
    My Weather Underground station

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Escondido, CA
    Posts
    5,172
    Mine will be in metal enclosures (included in my kits). The metal enclosures will be installed in one end of my base cabinet. All wiring will be in the echains, wire wrap, etc.

    This might help: http://www.allelectronics.com/make-a...devices/2.html
    ++++++

    Some say the land of milk and honey; others say the land of fruits and nuts. All together my sort of heaven.

    Power is not taken. It is given. Who have you given yours to? Hmmmm?

    Carol Reed

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    1,367
    Here's a slideshow of the box I built for mine... it also shows some of the other cabling solutions like out at the steppers and maybe some of the cable chain (i forget if that's in there)




    The one after this one also has some wiring content in it, too.
    Jason Beam
    Sacramento, CA

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    falcon heights, minnesota
    Posts
    5,609
    mine is wired pretty much according to the instructions that came with the shapeoko 2. but the power supply is on it's own shelf, the spindle speed controller is tucked under the laptop shelf, and the arduino is attached to one of the rail ends per the instructions.
    benedictione omnes bene

    www.burroviejowoodworking.com

    check out my etsy store, buroviejowoodworking

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    GTA Ontario Canada
    Posts
    12,251
    Well Brent you said it in your Ox post. I think insufficient attention is paid to the aspect of shielding in all these units and wiring layout. Crosstalk and interference is real and can easily be attended to.
    There are valid reasons why emi shielding is used all over the place in electronics. Good grounding is essential consideration too. Dont want to have ground loops. I like Carols point about metal enclosures.

    Sent from my SGH-I337M using Tapatalk
    cheers

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Reno NV
    Posts
    13,360
    I ordered the shielded wires for the steppers, and also ordered up some shielded wire to use for the limit switches. I figure I might as well just plan on using them while I'm at it. Might be a little overkill, but I figure why not add them now while I'm putting it together.
    Programmer - An organism that turns coffee into software.
    If all your friends are exactly like you, What an un-interesting life it must be.
    "A door is what a dog is perpetually on the wrong side of" Ogden Nash


  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    1,367
    Quote Originally Posted by Brent Dowell View Post
    I ordered the shielded wires for the steppers, and also ordered up some shielded wire to use for the limit switches. I figure I might as well just plan on using them while I'm at it. Might be a little overkill, but I figure why not add them now while I'm putting it together.

    I shielded all mine, too - can't possibly hurt and it's cheap insurance.
    Jason Beam
    Sacramento, CA

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Kansas City, Missouri
    Posts
    13,443
    I've got shielded cables, but since I built mine about 10 years ago, the cable chains weren't all that available and were pricey for the ones that were. The cables are simple held on with cable clamps with some necessary slack as needed. The Laser controller is the most recent addition and it currently riding on top of the carriage.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2015-10-12 19.35.12.jpg 
Views:	11 
Size:	51.0 KB 
ID:	92864

    The controller is in the original box I built for it, but the power supply I bough a couple years back sits on the shelf in the elements. Power is routed through a main switch on the front of the shelf. I have a SSR mounted inside the electrical boxes on the left side with a kill switch and power plug on the front to control the spindle. None of it is pretty, but all works.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2015-10-12 19.35.31.jpg 
Views:	9 
Size:	35.8 KB 
ID:	92865

    Currently the PC is on a small computer desk in front of the cnc (sorry missed that pic), but the monitor is wall mounted.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2015-10-12 19.35.41.jpg 
Views:	9 
Size:	33.4 KB 
ID:	92866

    I am planning to move the CPU inside the office to help keep the dust down on it and do away with the desk. I also am planning an update to move the electronics in a cabinet and add a 4th axis, so look for an upcoming thread soon.
    Darren

    To a small child, the perfect granddad is unafraid of big dogs and fierce storms but absolutely terrified of the word “boo.” – Robert Brault

Similar Threads

  1. Have you used TigerDirect for electronics?
    By Ron Jones in forum Off Topic Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-11-2010, 02:48 AM
  2. Medical electronics has sure come a long ways....!
    By Ken Fitzgerald in forum Off Topic Discussion
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 02-19-2010, 04:47 AM
  3. chisel box, re-organized
    By ken werner in forum Neander Tool Questions and Show & Tell
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-12-2009, 01:40 PM
  4. Silly Poll: how organized are you?
    By Art Mulder in forum General Woodworking Q&A
    Replies: 39
    Last Post: 02-08-2008, 03:37 AM
  5. Getting a bit more organized.......
    By Stuart Ablett in forum New Tools
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-12-2007, 11:14 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •