Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Dust Boot Addition

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Kansas City, Missouri
    Posts
    13,437

    Dust Boot Addition

    For the longest time I"ve wanted to get a dust boot on my cnc, but since I need it to be removable for swapping bits, I had a hard time figure out a way to make that happen. Well with the recent addition of the weaver scope rail for adding on the laser, I got an idea.

    So a week or so ago I ordered some brush strips off ebay, in 1" , 2" , and 3" sizes. The strips are 3/16" wide at the metal banding that holds the strips. I wanted to do a friction fit into the boots plate. So here is the design I came up with.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DustBoot.jpg 
Views:	14 
Size:	57.4 KB 
ID:	92928

    Using my HF Ring roller I rolled the strip brush to match the radius' of the plate
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2015-10-17 11.27.05.jpg 
Views:	20 
Size:	41.7 KB 
ID:	92920 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2015-10-17 11.26.57.jpg 
Views:	21 
Size:	69.4 KB 
ID:	92919 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2015-10-17 11.32.07.jpg 
Views:	18 
Size:	47.1 KB 
ID:	92921
    Next I milled out the plate, all done with a 1/8" end mill, however I think I mis-measured the straight areas.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2015-10-17 12.02.32.jpg 
Views:	19 
Size:	42.7 KB 
ID:	92922

    No problem, I just cut the straight areas out and re-used the curved parts
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2015-10-17 12.07.23.jpg 
Views:	18 
Size:	39.1 KB 
ID:	92923

    Well, the first attempt, the exact 3/16" groove was a bit tight and blew out the mdf, so remilled a new plate with a little larger groove for it, also thickened the outer wall and made the vacuum hose hole a little larger (which was needed).
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2015-10-17 12.19.47.jpg 
Views:	18 
Size:	36.1 KB 
ID:	92924

    Using a straight screwdriver and hammer I tapped the brush into the groove, was a snug fit, but didn't split this time
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2015-10-17 13.03.26.jpg 
Views:	17 
Size:	50.8 KB 
ID:	92925

    Next I added a support with the scope mount. I used three 3" screws to fasten the support and give it rigidity.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2015-10-17 13.31.37.jpg 
Views:	22 
Size:	42.9 KB 
ID:	92926

    Lastly, I connected up to my DC.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2015-10-17 13.34.04.jpg 
Views:	24 
Size:	57.0 KB 
ID:	92927
    Darren

    To a small child, the perfect granddad is unafraid of big dogs and fierce storms but absolutely terrified of the word “boo.” – Robert Brault

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Kansas City, Missouri
    Posts
    13,437
    So a quick test showed no movement in the mount, it seems very rigid. I did have to switch it back to my shop vac as the DC is overheating the relay I have in use to toggle it on/off.



    And the best part is, not one chip on the table after it finished.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2015-10-17 15.33.45.jpg 
Views:	16 
Size:	34.1 KB 
ID:	92929
    Darren

    To a small child, the perfect granddad is unafraid of big dogs and fierce storms but absolutely terrified of the word “boo.” – Robert Brault

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    1,367
    Nicely done!!

    The ability to reach your collet with these things is paramount. Great solution! Legacy uses a ring with RE magnets around 'em and it just snaps into place -- i though that was clever, too.
    Jason Beam
    Sacramento, CA

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Kansas City, Missouri
    Posts
    13,437
    Quote Originally Posted by Jason Beam View Post
    Nicely done!!

    The ability to reach your collet with these things is paramount. Great solution! Legacy uses a ring with RE magnets around 'em and it just snaps into place -- i though that was clever, too.
    I've had some magnets on order, but since I use a rotozip, the shaft doesn't protrude as far as some other routers. I'm going to route out another base and use the 1" strips on it. With the weaver rail I can adjust the boot up and down as needed, so those two should fit my needs.
    Darren

    To a small child, the perfect granddad is unafraid of big dogs and fierce storms but absolutely terrified of the word “boo.” – Robert Brault

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    GTA Ontario Canada
    Posts
    12,247
    Brilliant...well done

    Sent from my SGH-I337M using Tapatalk
    cheers

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    East Freeetown, Massachusetts
    Posts
    3,019
    This is something I need to do.

    I like something I can see through and with magnetics.

    I have a pile of hard drive magnets that I will use.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Reno NV
    Posts
    13,357
    Very nicely done Darren!
    Programmer - An organism that turns coffee into software.
    If all your friends are exactly like you, What an un-interesting life it must be.
    "A door is what a dog is perpetually on the wrong side of" Ogden Nash


  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Kansas City, Missouri
    Posts
    13,437
    One thing I thought I'd mention, is how much quieter things run with the boot in place, especially when I can walk away and go get some work done in the office while it runs. Actually the spindle noise and the vacuum noise was muffled quite a bit by the dust boot.
    Darren

    To a small child, the perfect granddad is unafraid of big dogs and fierce storms but absolutely terrified of the word “boo.” – Robert Brault

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Reno NV
    Posts
    13,357
    Quote Originally Posted by Darren Wright View Post
    One thing I thought I'd mention, is how much quieter things run with the boot in place, especially when I can walk away and go get some work done in the office while it runs. Actually the spindle noise and the vacuum noise was muffled quite a bit by the dust boot.
    How long of a cable are you using to run it from your computer? I'm assuming the computer is in the office and the CNC is in the shop?
    Programmer - An organism that turns coffee into software.
    If all your friends are exactly like you, What an un-interesting life it must be.
    "A door is what a dog is perpetually on the wrong side of" Ogden Nash


  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Kansas City, Missouri
    Posts
    13,437
    Quote Originally Posted by Brent Dowell View Post
    How long of a cable are you using to run it from your computer? I'm assuming the computer is in the office and the CNC is in the shop?
    CNC is just outside the office, but it's on it's own computer in the shop. I do plan to move that computer into the office, but will still be able to get by with a 6' cable.
    Darren

    To a small child, the perfect granddad is unafraid of big dogs and fierce storms but absolutely terrified of the word “boo.” – Robert Brault

Similar Threads

  1. Dust Boot Update
    By Brent Dowell in forum New Systems and Builds
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-15-2015, 07:58 PM
  2. Workbench Addition
    By Matt Fornes in forum New Tools
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-21-2011, 02:07 PM
  3. New addition..............
    By Les Elm in forum Lathe Project Showcase
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-07-2010, 01:37 AM
  4. a little addition to my case
    By jim capozzi in forum Neander Tool Questions and Show & Tell
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 01-27-2008, 09:27 PM
  5. Pictures of my New Addition
    By Travis Johnson in forum Shop Tours
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-29-2007, 11:32 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •