Please be careful This Holiday Season

Ted Calver

Staff member
I would like to share an experience with you about drinking and driving...

As you well know, some of us have been lucky not to have had brushes with the authorities on our way home from the odd social session over the years.

A couple of nights ago I was out for a few drinks with some friends and had a few too many beers and then topped it off with a margarita. Not a good idea.

Knowing full well I was at least slightly over the limit, I did something I've never done before: I took a taxi home. I arrived home safely without incident, which was a real surprise.

I have never driven a taxi before and have no idea where I got it!:eek:

Clever one Ted.

However..,..some of the sober taxi drivers I have had the misfortune to drive with left me thinking I would be safer walking. Lol. Those guys from Somalia that drive in Minneapolis oh boy then there are the New Yorker guys oy vey.

Sent from my SGH-I337M using Tapatalk

Scariest cab ride I ever had was in Athens Greece, with a Greek driver, with no idea where my hotel was...

I was waiting to hear what you did with the taxi the next morning? I have had some very interesting rides in cabs in many, many countries including ours. But, I really think some of my nightmares originate from a cab ride in Atlanta during rush hour.

I suppose the scariest taxi ride I've experienced was in Lima, Peru... and it wasn't actually a taxi, just a young man charged by my agent to pick me up at the airport and deliver me to the hotel. He spoke no English, I spoke no Spanish, the car was his personal vehicle, a little Toyota. I got to the hotel just fine, to find out that my clients I was meeting there were being chauffeured about in an armored car with an armed driver... my clients represented the largest gold mine in Peru.