Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Bow front lowboy dresser challenges

Bow front lowboy dresser challenges

I am pretty new to sketchup but thanks to youtube video tutorials I am catching on. Here is a dresser I am working on. The piece will present some new challenges for me. I have done a few bent laminations and use a vacuum press but haven’t done bent lam drawers before. I am pondering joinery for the drawer face to the drawer box. I suck at hand cut dovetails so looking for alternative methods. Also pondering drawer guides as one drawer side is longer than the other. The rest is pretty straight forward for my skill level.

Nice looking design. How about either half blind dovetails using a jig? Or sliding dovetails from the bottom up? Either would probably present a challenge with those curves.
    Darren

To a small child, the perfect granddad is unafraid of big dogs and fierce storms but absolutely terrified of the word “boo.” – Robert Brault

This will be fun to watch
    Faith, Hope & Charity

Since your design has a fairly shallow bow, the inside of the drawer fronts could be flat, allowing half-blind DTs or lock rabbets.
    Bill Arnold
    Citizen of Texas residing in Georgia.
    NRA Life Member and Member of Mensa
    My Weather Underground station

Two issues. One, the corner joinery and, two, the guides. The second is easiest. The draw will only open as far as the shortest side will allow it, so your guides will still be an equal length.

The corner joinery. If you want to use power machines then you will have to introduce a 90º corner on the inside. A slight bevel cut with the bevel face the width of the thickness of the sides will do. Since fixturing that in a dovetail jog would be problematic, I'd consider a locking rabbet joint done with the table saw and router. Still be tricky holding the drawer front at the right angle, but doable. Traditionally, handcut dovetails. So here is the opportunity to get good at it!
    ++++++