Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: drawing stud walls

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Lowndesville,SC
    Posts
    31

    drawing stud walls

    I lost all info on my computer when I thought I had it all backed up but didn't.I had an add on for sketchup where I could put in the size of the wall and it would put in the correct amount of studs.I have W10 on another hdd and have 2016 on it,so I probably need an add on for the new sketchup.I don't have the other add on or remember the name of it.What I'd like to know is if there is a new one or where I can get the old one.I say add on,but I guess I should say extention.If anyone has an answer I would be very thankfull for the info.
    Be nice to people on the way up,you'll see the same people on the way down.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Kansas City, Missouri
    Posts
    13,443
    I believe the plugin is called "house builder". I think I've installed the older version on a newer version on sketchup. I'll have to look at my shop computer next time I'm up there.

    Sent from my SM-G920P using Tapatalk
    Darren

    To a small child, the perfect granddad is unafraid of big dogs and fierce storms but absolutely terrified of the word “boo.” – Robert Brault

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Lowndesville,SC
    Posts
    31
    It is called "house builder",and I found a down load but I can't find how to open RB files in W10,so I don't know if it will work in the new OS.I'll keep trying until I figure it out,If I can.
    Be nice to people on the way up,you'll see the same people on the way down.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Lowndesville,SC
    Posts
    31
    Thanks for the help Darren.

    DAve
    Be nice to people on the way up,you'll see the same people on the way down.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Kansas City, Missouri
    Posts
    13,443
    I think you just have to manually install them to the plugins folder by copying them there. Im not sure if the folder is still under sketchup or moved to the users appdata folder though. A restart of sketchup would be required.

    Sent from my SM-G920P using Tapatalk
    Darren

    To a small child, the perfect granddad is unafraid of big dogs and fierce storms but absolutely terrified of the word “boo.” – Robert Brault

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Kansas City, Missouri
    Posts
    13,443
    Here's a thread explaining how to either rename the zip and use the extension installer, or to copy to the plugins folder...http://forums.sketchup.com/t/plugin-...stall/10267/10

    Sent from my SM-G920P using Tapatalk
    Darren

    To a small child, the perfect granddad is unafraid of big dogs and fierce storms but absolutely terrified of the word “boo.” – Robert Brault

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Kansas City, Missouri
    Posts
    13,443
    Decided to install this on my laptop, I downloaded the plugin from here: http://sketchucation.com/click.php?u...556663#p556663 (if you're not a member, there is a free way to sign up, just click the link below the subscriptions they list).

    Once downloaded, open sketchup, go to Window>>Preferences, then click the Extensions link on the left side of the dialog. Click "Install Extension", then navigate to where you downloaded the .rbz file, choose it and click to install. You will probably get a security warning, I clicked Yes, should give you a message that it was installed.
    Darren

    To a small child, the perfect granddad is unafraid of big dogs and fierce storms but absolutely terrified of the word “boo.” – Robert Brault

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Lowndesville,SC
    Posts
    31
    Thanks Darren,I got it loaded.It don't work right in 2016,but nothing does in W10.We'll have to learn to get along with it or not have computers I guess.

    Thanks again Darren,

    Dave
    Be nice to people on the way up,you'll see the same people on the way down.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Kansas City, Missouri
    Posts
    13,443
    Quote Originally Posted by Dave Willis View Post
    Thanks Darren,I got it loaded.It don't work right in 2016,but nothing does in W10.We'll have to learn to get along with it or not have computers I guess.

    Thanks again Darren,

    Dave
    No problem Dave, I was actually telling my brother about the plugin the other day, so needed a refresher in loading it. BTW, if the new menus in W10 bother you, you might download and try the Start10 start menu button, makes the start button just about like using Windows 7. It has a 30 day trial, but only $4.99 to buy... https://www.stardock.com/products/start10/
    Darren

    To a small child, the perfect granddad is unafraid of big dogs and fierce storms but absolutely terrified of the word “boo.” – Robert Brault

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Lowndesville,SC
    Posts
    31
    Thanks for all your help Darren.

    Dave
    Be nice to people on the way up,you'll see the same people on the way down.

Similar Threads

  1. Stud finders
    By Jonathan Shively in forum New Tools
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 09-10-2014, 07:14 PM
  2. Stud finder
    By Dan Mooney in forum New Tools
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-28-2014, 03:02 AM
  3. It's a BOY! It's a STUD! It's a GRIZZLY!
    By Al Launier in forum General Woodworking Q&A
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 12-31-2012, 12:35 AM
  4. Stud wall screws
    By Dennis Thompson in forum Carpentry and Construction
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-20-2010, 05:05 PM
  5. Zircon And Other Stud Finders
    By Boyd Gathwright in forum Carpentry and Construction
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 01-19-2007, 09:34 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •