Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pressure pots?

Pressure pots?

Ok. Got a few questions for you smart turning guys/ gals. I acquired 2 pressure tanks today that I would like to turn into pressure pots for resin. What would I need to do this. Vacuum pump or air pressure? Jigs? Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image.jpg 
Views:	36 
Size:	59.3 KB 
ID:	96087Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image.jpg 
Views:	37 
Size:	77.9 KB 
ID:	96088will these work? Both have 300psi max pressure capability.
    If it can be Moulded I'll Mould It.
    I am a Profile Knife Grinder, Carbide service, Saw grinder, Moulder Operator in industry

Wow! Those are some serious looking pots. No actual experience, but those pots looked so heavy duty I had to say something. There is a HF pressure pot sitting on my to-do shelf waiting it's turn. I have read that resin casting uses vacuum.

I'm no expert but I've done a fair amount of acrylic casting for pens and bottle stoppers. I have the HF pressure pot that I re-plumbed for vacuum. I built a plywood frame to hold the forms inside it.
    Bill Arnold
    Citizen of Texas residing in Georgia.
    NRA Life Member and Member of Mensa
    My Weather Underground station

Jim the issue is think of here is not are they big or good enough but perhaps they are on the other side of too good as in too large. Unless you planning on going into production such that you plan to sell the output. Then you need the capacity.
    cheers

The smaller of the two is about 4x12" and the larger one is about 12 x36"
    If it can be Moulded I'll Mould It.
    I am a Profile Knife Grinder, Carbide service, Saw grinder, Moulder Operator in industry