Shop Build - Winding River Workshop

Rennie Heuer

Staff member
Time to start the “Shop Build” thread! I want to be in by winter so I’ll have to get a move on. I’m new to Michigan, but I heard winters come early and hard here.

The shop build will begin on two fronts: The conversion of the garage and the addition of a storage shed to hold all the ‘non-shop’ stuff. In reality it will also be a temporary home to much of the smaller shop items that are currently in the garage to make it easier to get things like wiring, painting, and floor prep done.

The shed will be a 12 x 16 structure placed on piers about 30' from the garage. It will be sided to match the house with a steel roof. As it is under 200 sf it will not require a building permit, but it will require zoning approval. I’m working through the 10-page application now.:eek: Plans are straight forward wood frame construction. There will be a loft for storage of some folding lawn furniture, etc. Once the shop is complete and everything is moved in I want to put some storage space along one wall of the shed for lumber. I’m hoping this will free up some space in the shop.

View attachment FWW Shop layout.skp

I finally worked out a plan with the electrician that will essentially upgrade the current 30-amp service to the garage to 60 amps. Based on feedback here and input from the electrician that should satisfy my needs. It also chops his initial estimate to about half. The upgraded service will cost about $1,400. More than I had hoped but close enough.

I am at a bit of a loss on how to configure my space. I would like to place a small office in the front corner. This is actually a bit of a necessity as there is no place in the house where I can set up my computer with the extra monitor and printer – it’s just too small.