This is a woodworking thread.......really

Paul Downes

So how was Memorial Day for the rest of the family? I had a very interesting day myself. Started off the day wrapping up a tiled back splash for the kitchen. Mostly some caulking and a few grout mistakes fixed, while my son worked at putting a laminate floor in. So the house was a mess but we had no real plans, just trying to make the home ready for my upcoming son's wedding in June.

So I had been thinking about my dad who served in WW2 Pacific theater as an army medic. Dad was an PhD entomologist by profession. He had started real young with a fascination with bugs and started keeping bee hives somewhere around 8-10 yrs old. I sure miss him. Anyway I look out the kitchen window and see a swarm of insects in the yard. I'm thinking, kind of early for manure flies.....what the heck? So my son goes out and comes back in, tells me "those are honey bees." The swarm lands on a maple tree in the yard. So I get to thinking, and rush off to the farm store and buy a brooder box. Of course I had to build a bottom and top for it. Another son Michael, helps me out.

So here's the woodworking part. Mike seems to love hanging out in the workshop. So I've been thinking on figuring out a woodworking or welding project to train the lad, and get him familiar with projects. So now we're going to build some hives and get ready should we find another swarm. Turns out a bee hive is a great project. We will use dovetail joints on the main box. Half laps on other parts and several other joints, dado's, etc.