Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: 15hp 3ph motor...***25hp too!***

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Tokiwadai, Japan
    Posts
    2,882

    15hp 3ph motor...***25hp too!***

    Found this on Craig's list...

    Any thoughts, comments, interest?

    http://seattle.craigslist.org/est/tls/336477243.html
    Last edited by Greg Cook; 05-26-2007 at 05:52 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    2,323
    Hi Greg,
    That looks like quite the find for someone who knows what to do with motor like that. Powerful enough to turn tree trunks into shapely vessels.
    Somebody's got to want that.
    Thanks for the post.
    Shaz
    I am a registered voter and you can be too. We ( registered voters ) select the moderators for this forum by voting every six months for the people we want to watch over this family forum.
    Please join me. Register now.
    Shaz
    Here is how

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    The Heart of Dixie
    Posts
    4,265
    As the fellow said, perfect for a Phase Converter. I am looking for a 10hp motor right now. There cheap enough it's just finding one close by. To heavy to ship.

    I found one this morning for $40. But I figure it going to take a tank of gas, $60 to drive there and back to get it! Darn gas prices!

    Jeff
    God grant me the senility to forget the people I never liked anyway,
    the good fortune to run into the ones I do,
    and the eyesight to tell the difference.


    Kudzu Craft Lightweight Skin on frame Kayaks.
    Custom built boats and Kits

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Tokiwadai, Japan
    Posts
    2,882
    Shaz...this one will turn Giant Sequoia .... Or, one-up Marty and really suck!

    Compare size to circuit breaker panels....

    Attachment 8998

    http://seattle.craigslist.org/tac/tls/334935198.html

    Last edited by Greg Cook; 09-13-2009 at 03:46 AM.

  5. #5
    Alan DuBoff is offline Former Member (by the member's request)
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    711
    My concern would be the amps required. I currently use a 220v 30a circuit for a 7.5HP, and the only reason that is able to do so safely is that the 7.5HP is not a typical 23amp, but a lower 19.2 amp motor.

    If you have a large circuit in your house, that won't matter for you.

    You will also need an appropriate static converter for the 15hp motor.

    Bottom line is that if you can size the rest of what would be a rotary phase converter with the 15hp motor, you could start just about any reasonable machine, and then. I think 15HP is too big. I use a 7 1/2HP rpc and 5HP is the largest motor I start (my table saw).

    OTOH, you will rarely run across machines that have bigger than 5HP motors, although I see some planers that have 71/2HP and 10HP motors. Horses for courses...for certain in this case...
    Last edited by Alan DuBoff; 05-29-2007 at 03:56 AM. Reason: edit: mine is a 19.2amp 7.5HP motor, not 5HP...it will start a 5HP machine.

  6. #6
    Alan DuBoff is offline Former Member (by the member's request)
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    711

    Do homework, operate safely!

    FYI,

    Here's some information on phase converters from phase-a-matic, and notice the gauge required for 15HP...geez, 3 gauge, I've never seen that in any homes, I don't think. I guess you'd have to run from the breaker box to the motor, but the motor to machine could be the gauge required for the machine.

    http://www.phase-a-matic.com/PDF/SIS-2007.pdf

    Also note the amps, it requires 100 amps per this chart. (that's 100amps of 220!)

    Also note the pricing difference between the static converters that PAM sells, from 5HP to 15HP...I've seen info on building your own static converter online, if you feel comfortable doing so, but just to compare apples to apples, these are prices for pre-built static converters.

    http://www.phase-a-matic.com/StaticModels&Prices.htm

    Size your converter wisely.

    In some cases, like bandsaws that require a lot of power to turn on/off, you need a converter that is 50% larger, so a 5HP would need a 7 1/2 HP. Table saws and jointers are not as bad, but bandsaws will require more power, I think it's the inertia needed.

    So you would be able to start a 10HP machine. I'd like to see a show of hands for folks that have a 10HP machine? OTOH, you could run 30HP of machines at the same time.

    I personally don't like to leave power machinery on, when I'm not using it, so will only need to use dust collection when I build it<g>, and one machine. Also the advantage of phase converters is that I can now build a pentz style DC with a 5HP 3phase motor that I only had to pay $40 for.

    Lastly I'd like to ask a question. You will get 3x the amount of HP of the converter, so if the converter has a 15HP motor, you could safely run 3x. Will you need 30HP of machines running at the same time?
    Last edited by Alan DuBoff; 05-28-2007 at 01:09 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. new ts motor
    By Frank Fusco in forum New Tools
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-18-2013, 10:26 PM
  2. got my motor.....but..........
    By Frank Fusco in forum General Woodworking Q&A
    Replies: 105
    Last Post: 08-30-2012, 06:29 PM
  3. Need a new motor
    By Bill Antonacchio in forum Turning Tool Questions and Show & Tell
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-01-2009, 02:25 AM
  4. Old Motor Help
    By Travis Johnson in forum Old Iron
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 01-05-2008, 08:49 AM
  5. New old motor
    By Jeff Horton in forum Old Iron
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-07-2007, 12:16 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •