Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: SU Plugins Inoperative

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Treasure Island FL
    Posts
    92

    SU Plugins Inoperative

    I have tried installing a couple additional SU plugins without success. I have been simply placing the plugin file, a Ruby file, into the Plugin folder in SketchUp. Some plugins are contained in their own folder within the Plugin folder while others are placed in the SU Plugin folder without being in their own folder. I have tried rebooting my computer. Any suggestions for a solution?
    Jeff Wright
    Treasure Island FL

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    SE Minnesota
    Posts
    2,468
    What scripts are they? There are some that were written for the previous version of SketchUp and need to be slightly edited to work in the latest. There are also some that don't work with the free version. I believe scripts that have their own toolbars are the primary ones in the latter group.
    Irony: The opposite of Wrinkly

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Treasure Island FL
    Posts
    92
    Quote Originally Posted by Dave Richards View Post
    What scripts are they?
    One is Windowizer found here:

    http://www.crai.archi.fr/RubyLibrary...indowizer21.rb

    Also, can a plugin be inside its own folder which in turn is placed into the PLUGIN folder within SU? Or, does the file itself have to be placed into the SU PLUGIN folder? I ask because some plugins come in their own folder that contains more than one file.
    Jeff Wright
    Treasure Island FL

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    SE Minnesota
    Posts
    2,468
    Windowizer shows up in the Context (right click) menu. There is nothing that shows in the Plugin menu. I don't think there were any changes need for that script to run in SU6 but you might want to get it from smustard.com instead. If there's an updated version, Rick would have it loaded there. Didier is pretty amazing about keeping his list up to date but if you still have trouble, try smustard.

    Yes, you can have folders inside the Plugins folder. I have a bunch of them. Some scripts generate their own toolbars or other UIs so these folders include PNG image files and maybe DLLs and other things. As I said before, those scripts didn't work in the previous free version. I don't know if they work in the current one but they may not.

    A few of the scripts that generate their own UIs are:

    Housebuilder
    Selection Filter
    Projection Tools
    Irony: The opposite of Wrinkly

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Treasure Island FL
    Posts
    92
    Quote Originally Posted by Dave Richards View Post
    Windowizer shows up in the Context (right click) menu. There is nothing that shows in the Plugin menu.
    Dave, I tried downloading the plugin from the site your suggested. Still nothing. I don't see any evidence of a context menu for that plugin either. I right-clicked but nothing additional is showing. Not sure what the story is.
    Jeff Wright
    Treasure Island FL

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    SE Minnesota
    Posts
    2,468
    Did you select a face first before right clicking?

    Did you restart SketchUp after adding the script to the Plugins folder?
    Irony: The opposite of Wrinkly

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Treasure Island FL
    Posts
    92
    Quote Originally Posted by Dave Richards View Post
    Did you select a face first before right clicking?

    Did you restart SketchUp after adding the script to the Plugins folder?
    Yep . . . on both accounts.
    Jeff Wright
    Treasure Island FL

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    SE Minnesota
    Posts
    2,468
    Did you download the entire zip file and then extract the contents to the Plugins folder? There are a number of files in the zip file that need to be extracted.
    Irony: The opposite of Wrinkly

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Treasure Island FL
    Posts
    92
    Quote Originally Posted by Dave Richards View Post
    Did you download the entire zip file and then extract the contents to the Plugins folder? There are a number of files in the zip file that need to be extracted.
    Yes, there were about five or six files extracted.
    Jeff Wright
    Treasure Island FL

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    SE Minnesota
    Posts
    2,468
    Last two suggestions.

    Go to Window>Preferences>Extensions and check all the boxes. Close SketchUp and open it again. Draw a surface, select it and right click. Is Windowizer at the bottom of the context menu?

    If that doesn't help I think it is time to contact Rick at Smustard for suggestions. Let me know how it goes.
    Irony: The opposite of Wrinkly

Similar Threads

  1. SketchUp Plugins
    By Dave Richards in forum Designs, Plans and Sketches
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-31-2007, 11:51 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •