Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Incra router table system

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    409

    Incra router table system

    Anyone have one? Curious as how deep your router top has to be to hold one of those things. I looked on their website but didn't see anything, but I could just be missing it.

    Thanks
    Rise above the rest

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Tokiwadai, Japan
    Posts
    2,882
    Aaron,

    Do you have a particular model you're looking at? Stand along, or installed in you TS?

    Thanks.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    1,325
    I have the LS 25 and it's amazing. I absolutely love it (there, stealth gloat outta the way).... :P

    Table size - for the 25, my table is 28"x48" - it could stand to be another 6" longer, though. My system has the full wonderfence and all, and it loses a little travel because of that. The bare fence might be just fine on a 48-50" wide table. But a full wonderfence system would probably do better with 53-54" wide.

    The Woodpecker standard for the LS25 is 32x53. I don't know if the extra depth is really needed, the fence itself is 28" wide and i suppose 1-2 inches more wouldn't hurt, i guess.

    Here's a few pictures of my table after I upgraded to the 25 but hadn't yet replaced my top:

    http://www.sacramentoareawoodworkers...ls.php?album=8

    If I remember right that original top was only 28x36 and was WAYYY too short for the LS 25. It was perfect for my original Ultra 17, though.
    Jason Beam
    Sacramento, CA

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    ABQ NM
    Posts
    29,079
    Aaron, these links might give you some ideas:

    http://www.woodpeck.com/rt2732.html

    http://www.woodpeck.com/rt2743.html

    I've got the Incra TSIII system on my tablesaw, which also has a router table extension. I don't have the Incra Wonderfence, but I have the other two fences (thin and thick), and I built a split fence that attaches quickly to the Incra tablesaw fence.

    I'll also second Jason's "I absolutely love it!" comment.
    When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro. - Hunter S. Thompson
    When the weird get going, they start their own forum. - Vaughn McMillan

    workingwoods.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Nanaimo B.C. Canada
    Posts
    131

    Lightbulb

    Aaron check out John Lucas's site Woodshop Demos
    I believe he is a member here @ FWW

    He has quite a few articles dealing with the Incra Router Fence system from mounting to usage etc.

    Hope that helps.
    --------------
    Cheers! - Jim

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Inside the Beltway
    Posts
    2,666
    Aaron,

    There's nothing better. Here's mine:

    http://faculty.cua.edu/lantry/beast/beast010.jpg

    http://faculty.cua.edu/lantry/beast/beast001.jpg

    I'm of the persuasion that a router table top can't possibly be big enough, so mine's 30 by 48... unless I take the fence off, or move it back, or extend the supports, in which case it's even bigger. But no sane person would make one that big...

    Thanks,

    Bill

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    409
    Quote Originally Posted by Greg Cook View Post
    Aaron,

    Do you have a particular model you're looking at? Stand along, or installed in you TS?

    Thanks.
    Guess I should of stated which way first, seems everyone has at TS system but I am looking at the stand alone.

    I hadn't narrowed down which one yet, but to give you an idea it would be the LS Supersystem, LS Positioner, Ultra Light. I just started looking and couldn't even tell you the difference right now because I was wondering about the top. So it would a stand alone that would use the router stand I have now, but I think I would have to get a different top by the looks of it.

    The top I have now is 32" wide, by 24" deep (that including about 3" of T-track on the front), I have about 16" from the center of the bit to the back. Its a Bench Dog top if that helps any.
    Last edited by Aaron Beaver; 06-14-2007 at 12:11 AM.
    Rise above the rest

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    409
    I see Bench Dog has an "Offset Model" for the Incra, BUT every where I look it says the dimensions are 32x24, that's what mine is and its the standard one, not the offset. The offset has to be bigger, but every site I find says its 32 wide x24 deep. hmmm
    Rise above the rest

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Tokiwadai, Japan
    Posts
    2,882
    Rockler has an offset table...32" deep x 24" wide. I have one like this with the "original Incra Jig"...

    Is this any help?

    http://www.rockler.com/product.cfm?O...Select=Details

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    409
    I think I will go to the store and see if they have one so I can measure it.

    Both these pics came off of Amazon but everywhere I looks says they are the same size. First one is the Offset, looks larger, second one is the standard which is what I have.
    Rise above the rest

Similar Threads

  1. Incra Router Table
    By Alex Reid in forum Flatwork Project Showcase
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 05-17-2012, 11:58 PM
  2. Incra LS Positioner & PRL V2 Router Lift
    By Stuart Ablett in forum New Tools
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-16-2009, 12:43 PM
  3. Incra LS System & Incra Original Jig
    By Stuart Ablett in forum New Tools
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 05-31-2009, 05:22 PM
  4. Replies: 41
    Last Post: 04-10-2009, 03:11 AM
  5. Incra compatible router bit set questions...
    By Jim O'Dell in forum New Tools
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-01-2007, 08:53 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •