Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Stupid!! Got bit by the bandsaw.

Stupid!! Got bit by the bandsaw.

Just one of those posts to remind everyone To be careful out there! If you were a Hill Street Blues fan you will remember that line. Here I was resawing some small 3x3 blocks to get them a little thinner. I would feed one through and use another as a push block. I was sawing on the rough (unplanned side) when suddenly the blade cut through before I expected because there was a taper in the wood. Well, it seems the push block was just about the width I was cutting and next thing I know my finger hits the blade.

After the adrenalin rush was over I dared to release my grip on said finger. Must admit I was expecting something bad since I didn't feel any pain but it was just a very minor cut with just a drop of blood. That was probably forced out by the adrenalin feed grip I had on it.

I was doing something stupid, I admit that. Being self taught I didn't realize it but I do now! NEVER push with your finger inline with the blade!!

No lectures please. I feel stupid enough. I have always felt the bandsaw was more likely to get me than the table saw, guess I was right! Praise God I learned my lesson with a stinging cut and not bloody stump!

Placitas, NM in the foothills of the Sandia Mt
    Whew, that was a close one. Glad it stopped where it did.

Thanks for the precautionary tale. I generally feel safer around the bandsaw than the tablesaw, but I guess that's when you get bit.

Thanks for the safety reminder and I am glad that the damage was negligable.

It's good for me to get a reminder like this every month or so. And I hope that it will continue to be others who give me such reminders. Not that I wish anyone any harm, but better you than me.
    Cheers, Frank

Jeff

Sorry for the "ding" glad it wasn't a big deal. Amazing that you can type with all that adrenaline running through your system. Three cups of coffee and I'm all over the keyboard

Take care

Jay