Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: My Little Dream Shop

My Little Dream Shop

Hello folks. I am a relative newbie to woodworking. I have always liked tinkering here and there but only recently have I wanted to get a bit deeper into it. My good friend, Bartee Lamar, told me this is a great forum with good people to learn from. I hope so, because I have a lot to learn!

We moved into a new house recently and I finally have space for a small shop. The space isn't very big (only 169 square feet), but I will make do with the space I have. I just want to plan it out to make use of the area as best I can. Which, is why I am looking for some ideas and advice.

Here are the dimensions of the shop. I plan to replace the double windows with out-swinging french doors as soon as I can find an economical door that my wife and I like.

Attachment 9884

So far, I have installed an electrical sub-panel and wired outlets and lighting. Here is a picture of the lighting.

Attachment 9887
    Attachment 9886

Since the above joists are the engineered I-Beam style, I cut strips of 7/16" OSB (18" x 48"), painted them white and layed them between the joists for ceiling tiles. This makes it easy to remove them for access to the ceiling if needed. The lights are mounted in OSB panel cutouts (I still have to paint the panels with the lights and the exposed part of the joists).

As far as equipmtent I currently own:

- Long Work bench (build before we moved into the new house)
    - Craftsman Router Table & Router (I hate the table)
    - Ryobi Compound Miter Saw
    - Delta 10" Table saw (currently in garage)
    - Hand Power Tools (Circular Saw, Jig Saw, Drill, Orbital Sander)
    - Shop Vac
    - A few hand tools

Attachment 9888
    Attachment 9889
    Attachment 9890

Some Ideas I have seen are combining the Router station into the table saw. But, I don't know where to locate plaans or designs for this. My biggest concerns are workspace efficiency, air quality, and wood storage.