Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: "Dust Collector Remote"???

  1. #1

    Cool "Dust Collector Remote"???

    What do You use,and why?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Lake City, Florida
    Posts
    498
    I use the PSI Woodworking LR110-3 110V Long Ranger Dust Collector Switch I got through Amazon.
    Why? I dunno -- saw it on-line and ordered it.
    Am I sorry? NO, it works great from anywhere in the shop (20' x 28').
    Only problem -- where did I put the $%&@ remote

    Tony, BCE '75

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    WNY, Buffalo Area
    Posts
    873
    I have a small basement shop, so I don't use an actual remote. However I picked up a big on/off push button switch (like for a router table). I have my DC connected to it. Currently it is sitting right next to my table saw on an assembly bench. Eventually when I run ductwork, I am planning on suspending it from the ceiling in the center of the shop.
    We create with our hands in wood what our mind sees in thought.
    Disclosure: Formerly was a part-time sales person & instructor at WoodCraft in Buffalo, NY.
    www.tinyurl.com/thewoodshoppe

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    RETIRED(!) in Austintown, Ohio
    Posts
    4,996
    Quote Originally Posted by Lary Grassmeier View Post
    What do You use,and why?
    I use the PSI LongRanger, 220 v~. Because it works!

    I have two remotes, velcroed to the tablesaw and the 16"bandsaw, but moveable when I want to use the DC on the router table, jointer, 14" bandsaw, Performax, or the planers.
    Jim D.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Central Illinois
    Posts
    936
    Several years ago, I got Remote combo's for my outside Christmas decorations. I ended up with an extra. It consists of an receptacle with a built in receiver and an on/off transmitter. Cost about $6.00. Been usin' it ever since. Works great.

    Bruce

  6. #6

    For something different....

    For each of my power tools that are attached to the cyclone, I have installed a magnetic sensor that detects when the tool is turned on. That sensor causes a transistor in the sensor housing to conduct/close. That closing of the transistor completes the circuit of a 12V DC power supply.(thermostat wire connects the sensor to a small control panel near the cyclone.) That circuit is attached to a pair of 250V, 50 Amp, solid state relays that in turn start the motor on the cyclone.

    When I turn off the power tool, the cyclone continues to run for an additional 10-12 seconds before powering down. The added run time is provided by a large capacitor across the 12V line to the relays.

    Now I need to build an electrical blast gate for each tool to complete the tool automation of the process. (I have been saying that for a couple years. )

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    ABQ NM
    Posts
    29,086
    I got this one free from Rockler:

    http://www.rockler.com/product.cfm?p...&filter=remote

    I won a benchtop router table in a drawing, and convinced the manager to let me have the remote instead -- about half the retail price -- since I already had a much better RT. 90% of my DC needs are at the lathe, so I keep the remote clipped to the headstock. When I'm using other connected tools, I clip the remote to a belt loop and always have it handy.
    When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro. - Hunter S. Thompson
    When the weird get going, they start their own forum. - Vaughn McMillan

    workingwoods.com

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Oak Harbor Washington on Whidbey Island
    Posts
    3,083
    http://www.grizzly.com/products/h5397

    Shopfox for 220 volts $34.95 2 remotes it works great.
    "Forget the flat stuff slap something on the spinny thing and lets go, we're burning daylight" Bart Leetch
    "If it ain't round you may be a knuckle dragger""Turners drag their nuckles too, they just do it at a higher RPM"Bart

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    37 5'16.25"N 7625'28.11"W
    Posts
    193
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve Clardy View Post
    I made mine. I used Dennis Peacock's wiring diagram.
    About $50.00 total
    What Steve said, cheap and bullet proof

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Grove City, Ohio
    Posts
    57

    "Dust Collector Remote"???

    Another vote for the Shopfox. The price was right and it has worked very well for my shop.

Similar Threads

  1. Can I use a "cardboard" barrel as a chip collector?
    By Tom Baugues in forum General Woodworking Q&A
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 03-13-2012, 08:49 PM
  2. Turning woodworking dust and chips into burnable "logs"
    By Frank Pellow in forum General Woodworking Q&A
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 11-07-2011, 05:53 PM
  3. "Tornadoes" from my dust collector!
    By Gary McFarlane in forum Shop Tours
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-19-2009, 04:30 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-04-2009, 04:05 PM
  5. Grizzly G0583-Cannister Dust Collector w/remote
    By Scott Custer in forum Old Ads
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-09-2008, 05:34 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •