Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 220V remote?

220V remote?

I'm looking for recommendations for a 220V remote for my DC. I know Griz has one fairly inexpensive, but I vaguely remember hearing that it wasn't very good. FWIW, my DC is a 1 1/2hp Delta.

Thanks and Happy T-day,

Ken

quite happy with the Long Ranger I picked up at woodcraft. I bought the wired model, so I just have a centrally mounted switch. It's low voltage, so I could add more switches in future. about $59 as I recall. they offer a wireless version also.

I have the long ranger remote and have not had any problems with it at all. I've been using it for at least 6 years with only a couple of changes of batteries. I use a 3hp grizzly collector.
    I once heard that cats and women will do darn well what they please and that men and dogs would do well to accept it and just go on.

A cheaper, and IMHO a better way of doing the remote is to get a 220 volt contactor from an electrical supply house or even ebay. I got mine from Grainger. It's a Leviton brand and cost me about 22.00. Those that reported the ebay sources a while back were quoting closer to 10.00. I don't have a remote on mine yet, but it is wired in a way that the 110 volt trigger wire is on a 110 volt plug that just plugs into a switched receptacle. I can plug a 110 volt remote inline, use the 110 remote to turn on the trigger wire that in turn kicks the contactor and starts the cyclone. I've heard that Home depot has some cheap 110 remotes for 10.00. Whatever you use for the remote, it doesn't have to be much as the contactor pulls very little amperage.
    Hope this helps! You should have an electrical box to mount it all in. I think the one I used was about 10.00, but is a little small. This was outlined on the web by Dennis Peacock, but the link is now dead. Very easy to put together though. Jim.

Edit-found the web page on Dennis's web site. Try: http://www.beautifulwood.net/html/wireless_dc.html