Why do we all hate drywall so much?

What is it about drywall that makes everyone hate it?

As a machinist I work to tolerances of .001 and .0001 on a good day, you would think working with a sheet of paper bonded limestone 32 feet square that needs to be within the width of drywall tape (1.875) would be gosh darn easy. Let me tell you right now...its not.

No matter how carefully I measure, my joints are still gapped, the screws pull through the sheets and they are far more heavy then they need to be.

Maybe its just the material itself, it has just about every conceivable property OPPOSITE than wood. It has no grain at all. It has no strength in any load configuration. It's hardly renewable (the paper backing aside), and does not change with humidity. It also has the same color and consistency throughout a sheet and even from sheet to sheet and brand to brand. Adding to that, the stuff is brittle as glass, as dusty as a hay barn being filled with hay, and still looks like what hay looks like after it is processed by the horse after its all put up.

I need to get this drywalling done so I can get to the ceilings and work with real wood. Wood that has color, figure and grain. Wood that was milled out by my neighbors and harvested by my old logging friends. Yes white pine vee-matched that looks sharp and is processed by the local sawmill. Yep, drywall is...well...dry!!

mornin` travis....having fun with sheetrock i take it?.......look at it this way, if your wife where to paint painstakingly installed wood you`d have a fit...with drywall she can change colors as often as she wants and it just doesn`t matter;) ...tod

I totally agree.

I try to avoid drywall as much as possible. My biggest point of frustration with the stuff is doing the seams. No matter how much I try I can never get it as good as I would like it to turn out. :doh: :doh:

Not to mention the dust created from sanding my mistakes down. That stuff makes wood dust seem like a fresh breath of country air.