Mexican cocobolo beaded box....

Mike Stafford

Hello all! I joined this forum more than 8 months ago and completely forgot about it because I misplaced the link in the wrong folder. So I am a newbie!

I have been visiting the site a lot frequently and have enjoyed what I have seen. I decided to throw something out for all my lathe compadres to comment upon.

This box was turned from a piece of wood labeled as "Mexican cocobolo". What distinguishes it from any other cocobolo except where it was harvested is beyond me. This wood was extremely dense and hollowed beautifully requiring little in the way of sanding as it cut very cleanly. The box was sanded until it was smooth :) and finished with wax. This box finished up at
1 7/8" tall and 2 1/2" in diameter.

Comments appreciated....

Attachments

• MexCoco1Composite1 (600 x 685).jpg
    MexCoco1Composite1 (600 x 685).jpg
    43.9 KB · Views: 55
Ooh! Mike found us again. Good to see you back, and good to see pics of your work. That cocobolo box looks like another Stafford to me. :thumb: You are the box guy.

mike, love that wood and shape of the box as well.
i'm new to turning so have a couple of questions. why is the tenon on the bottom of the box and not the lid...my dvd's instruct to do it this way and your box follows this rule.
second question involves grain direction. again my dvd's say that lidded boxes are turned differently than bowls relative to grain direction. that would make lidded box grain running parallel with the lathe axis like a spindle. the explanation given was that wood growth is across the grain and therefore a lid and base will grow and shrink together and the fit will remain constant.

thanks for the help

Last edited:
Clark, I will try to answer your questions the best way I can.