Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: You just have to love PEX

You just have to love PEX

I gotta say, PEX is the answer for anyone who hates plumbing.

I have never worked with the stuff before, but since that is what you use to lay down radiant floor heating, I had some left over. After thinking about using pvc pipe and all the bends, elbows, glue and whatnot I would need to finish up a wet wall in time for my drywall guy to come in, I decided to buy PEX fittings and do it with PEX.

What a great idea that was. It took longer to drill the holes and route the PEX tubing then it did to hook everything up. In fact it was like running electrical cable. Drill the holes, push the pipe in around the corners and bends, then push on some fittings and you are done. No leaks, no mess, no glue, no noxious fumes, nothing, just a nasty job done and over with.

I gotta say, when I plumb my shop for compressed air, its PEX that I am using. About the only bad thing I can say for it is that the cost of fittings can get high at 4 bucks a shot. At the same time no matter how you arrange PEX tubing, if its not hidden inside a wall, it just looks goofy. There is just no way to make it look nice and clean like copper or galvanized pipe.
    I have no intention of traveling from birth to the grave in a manicured and well preserved body; but rather I will skid in sideways, totally beat up, completely worn out, utterly exhausted and jump off my tractor and loudly yell, "Wow, this is what it took to feed a nation!"

Do you have a crimper or are you using the screw type fittings? I love the stuff as well, but have not heard if it is suitable for compressed air.

Quote Originally Posted by Travis Porter View Post
    Do you have a crimper or are you using the screw type fittings? I love the stuff as well, but have not heard if it is suitable for compressed air.
    Neither, I used the slip on fittings...