25. You may not vote on this poll
  • Bosch 4410L

5 20.00%
  • Makita LS1013LF

7 28.00%
  • Other

13 52.00%
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Which Miter saw to buy? Need help.

Which Miter saw to buy? Need help.

Newbie here to the forum and novice wood worker. I'm putting down some laminate flooring in my house and want to buy a Miter Saw. This is my first Miter saw purchase so I want to make sure its a good one. Most of all, I don't want to buy a Miter Saw and have to upgrade it in a year or two when doing more projects (crown molding, bookshelves, etc) and realized I bought a piece of junk or not a advanced enough model.

I’m leaning towards a 10” SCMS based on what others have said about its versatility.

Is a 10" SCMS better than a 12" non-sliding?

The 2 models which seem to have the best reputation are the Bosch 4410L or Makita LS1013.

Also, I went to look at buying a Ridgid MSUV from someone a few blocks away in anticipation of the saw. This retired gentleman has a barely used Ridgid SCMS, MS1290LZ with the Ridgid MSUV for $330 total. It's 2 years old but only used for some ~10 small bird houses and seems to run great.

Is this a good buy for a 12" SCMS and MSUV?
    or is the Ridgid MCMS no good?

Thanks for you feedback.
    Barry
    Last edited by Barry Allweiss; 08-15-2007 at 03:48 PM. Reason: []= edited to remove faux cussin`

barry,
    i use milwaukee sliders the guard is kinda easy to remove and i like the 60deg to the right feature.
    welcome to family woodworking!
    tod
    [SIZE="1"] associated with several importers and manufacturers.[/SIZE]

Barry,

Welcome to the forum!

I have a DeWalt 703 (10") on a Rigid MSUV that I'm using now for cutting crown molding and chair rails. The saw works well. You'll love the MSUV

Miter saws are on sale at amazon right now with free shipping. Jim.
    Coolmeadow Setters...
    Exclusively Irish!
    Home of Irish Setter Rescue of North Texas