Which SCMS

• Bosch 4410L

Votes: 5 21.7%
  • Makita LS1013LF

Votes: 7 30.4%
  • Other

Votes: 11 47.8%

• Total voters
Newbie here to the forum and novice wood worker. I'm putting down some laminate flooring in my house and want to buy a Miter Saw. This is my first Miter saw purchase so I want to make sure its a good one. Most of all, I don't want to buy a Miter Saw and have to upgrade it in a year or two when doing more projects (crown molding, bookshelves, etc) and realized I bought a piece of junk or not a advanced enough model.

I’m leaning towards a 10” SCMS based on what others have said about its versatility.

Is a 10" SCMS better than a 12" non-sliding?

The 2 models which seem to have the best reputation are the Bosch 4410L or Makita LS1013.

Also, I went to look at buying a Ridgid MSUV from someone a few blocks away in anticipation of the saw. This retired gentleman has a barely used Ridgid SCMS, MS1290LZ with the Ridgid MSUV for $330 total. It's 2 years old but only used for some ~10 small bird houses and seems to run great.

Is this a good buy for a 12" SCMS and MSUV?
or is the Ridgid MCMS no good?

Thanks for you feedback.
Barry

Last edited:
barry,
i use milwaukee sliders the guard is kinda easy to remove and i like the 60deg to the right feature.
welcome to family woodworking!
tod

Barry,

Welcome to the forum!

I have a DeWalt 703 (10") on a Rigid MSUV that I'm using now for cutting crown molding and chair rails. The saw works well. You'll love the MSUV:thumb:

Miter saw

When we built our addition onto our home I bought a DeWalt sliding compound miter saw. It has performed flawlessly. That was about 10 years ago and it is my go to saw everyday in the shop. You would never regret this purchase.