Sliding tablesaw

Travis Porter

It seems I have convince the LOML to let me upgrade up my tablesaw set up from a cabinet saw to a slider.

What features/capabilities should I look for? I am not interested in what brand is better than the other, but more so what should it be capable of. I do some cabinets, furniture, and miscellaneous stuff. I am a hobbyist and not a pro so I am not looking for production put out. My shop is 24 x 32 so I believe I would like to be able to cross cut 96" with it, but can't say that it is mandatory.

Any and all suggestions and thoughts appreciated.

travis,

i have no real first hand info on sliders, never used one, but i was on MM's website the other day and watched the video they have showing their sliders features, the video features the one and only sam blasco and is very cool to watch, he shows how the slider can be used to true up two edges on sheet goods and then go from there, as well as other things. for me it was cool cause i had never really seen one in action....you however may already have.

just a thought. besides i know i always love to watch videos about power tools!!!

good luck with your decision
chris

"It seems I have convince the LOML to let me upgrade..."

"You know, I'm sitting here with this 400 dollar lathe, trying to turn out halfway decent work. Maybe I can convince Doorlink to let me get a Robust, or even one of those cool bowl lathes Bill Grumbine's been talking about...."

*Smack* "Wake up, man... this is planet earth calling!"

"Whew. Thanks, I needed that. Now where's that harbor freight drill I was just using?"

But seriously, Travis, if you can win that particular argument, you're a better rhetorician than I am. It would take Cicero himself to persuade Doorlink of such a thing... and even then, it would be an uneven contest. He might end up with his fingers cut off and nailed to the shop door... ;)

Good Luck! ;)

Bill