HVLP Spray Gun Recommendations

I want to get a conversion gun to run on my 4hp air compressor. I've had a lot of experience, including doing lacquer jobs on late 1930s car restorations.

Before I got serious about woodworking, I would use my Binks 'door jamb' spray gun and was moderately pleased with the results. What is the word for serious furniture refinishing using HVLP guns?

Gary Curtis

This is the one that I use and I really like it. http://www.spraygunworld.com/products/Sharpe/Sharpe SHP5495.htm

As well as the canister on the gun I also got the 2 quart pressure pot and hoses. I will admit that I have only sprayed waterbased stuff so far but I do not know why it would not perform just as well with anything else. I also purchased a .8 tip to go with the 1.2 but have only needed the 1.2 tip so far. I like the option to use the gun mounted canister for small jobs and use the two quart for larger jobs. I also like the pressure pot set up so that I can use the gun in any position that I need to.

Of course if you really want to go high end or low end sparygunworld has those also. They had the best prices that I could find at the time that I bought mine and they were good to work with.

Last edited:
I had been using a Porter Cable PSH1 gravity fed conversion gun, and have been happy with the results. I liked it so much I ordered a second one when Amazon had them on sale for less than $50. I know several people that have gotten Wagner, Vaspar, and even Harbor Freight and have had good results overall. At least with the PSH1, I have had zero success spraying latex paint. I was to put it bluntly, stupid when I tried it. I didn't thin the paint, didn't use floetrol, and didn't use a larger needle size.....

FWIW, I have since gone full bore into HVLP and got the Fuji Q4 which IMO is pretty impressive. Small, not real loud, and a 4 stage turbine to boot. Got it for 20% off during Amazon's paint supply sale and it was a lot cheaper than anywhere else I have seen.