Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: first restoration project

first restoration project

I recently had some hand tools passed down to me after a little neglectful storage.

Attachment 12570

I have no idea of the age of these tools. The Craftsman high angle (normal angle? - I'm a newbie to hand planes too - my only one so far other than these is a LN 62 LA Jack) does say Made in USA on the top of the sole. The Stanley rabbet plane is a 39 1/2. Any hints on the age of these guys will be appreciated. Also, I suspect that the hammer is some sort of specialized tool, but I have not the foggiest idea what kind of hammer (other than ball peen, small) it is.

I am using my vise jaws as "stickers" to keep the plane blade from resting on anything in the pic.

Lastly, what is the best way to clean up the rust from the planes? What sort of clean up is reccomended for the hand drill and hammer if I am thinking that they (the drill at least) should be primarily display pieces / preserved for value?

Thanks!

I've used the Electrolysis method with good success, followed by buffing with a wire buffing wheel then sanding with 320 grit if there are any rough spots. What I like about the Electrolysis is that it deep cleans rust from any pitted areas and if treated quickly after the cleaning process will preclude the rust from continuing in those areas.

Quote Originally Posted by Mark Kosmowski View Post
    I...The Craftsman high angle ...does say Made in USA on the top of the sole. The Stanley rabbet plane is a 39 1/2. Any hints on the age of these guys will be appreciated. Also, I suspect that the hammer is some sort of specialized tool, but I have not the foggiest idea what kind of hammer (other than ball peen, small) it is...

Lastly, what is the best way to clean up the rust from the planes? What sort of clean up is reccomended for the hand drill and hammer if I am thinking that they (the drill at least) should be primarily display pieces / preserved for value?

Thanks!