Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: new to Mac need browser help

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Monroeville, IN(Fort Wayne)
    Posts
    111

    new to Mac need browser help

    I pretty new to Mac, my biggest gripe so far is that Amazon and Ebay are PAINFULLY SLOW to load. Often in Safari I have to click on the reload button several times to get the page to load, after I finally get a few different pages loaded them the site seems to work fine for that session.

    I just downloaded Camino to try out, and can't get either site to load at all

    I'm using a new (in May) Apple MacBook Pro MA611LL/A 2.33 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2 GB RAM, 160 GB Hard Drive

    Is there some setting I need to change?
    my goal in life is to be as good a person as my kids think i am

    life is short, even in it's longest days

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Tokiwadai, Japan
    Posts
    2,882
    Kevin,

    If you are having problems with speed using both Safari, and a freshly loaded Camino, I'd try this first.

    Utilities, Disk Utilities, click on your HD icon and Repair Permissions.

    Then I'd load FireFox (Mozilla.com) and see how it works. FF is a known stable and fairly fast browser.

    Are you using any Norton products, especially Internet Suite? If so, I'd get rid of that and forget you ever used it......

    Try those, and let us know. We can do some other things after we hear from you on these.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Monroeville, IN(Fort Wayne)
    Posts
    111
    Hey Greg

    OK downloaded Firefox, no go on Amazon, sat there and "loaded" for 5 minutes nothing

    Norton = NO WAY
    my goal in life is to be as good a person as my kids think i am

    life is short, even in it's longest days

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Monroeville, IN(Fort Wayne)
    Posts
    111
    Just tried Ebay with Firefox and it loaded right away
    my goal in life is to be as good a person as my kids think i am

    life is short, even in it's longest days

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Tokiwadai, Japan
    Posts
    2,882
    Kevin,

    OK, did you Repair Permissions?

    If you open Safari back up, under the Safari name you will see "Reset Safari". If you click that it will clear your history, cookies etc. These can get plugged up over time and should be cleaned periodically. Doing this will speed up Safari, but I'm more wondering if your connection might be adding to the problem. Any details on it might help.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Monroeville, IN(Fort Wayne)
    Posts
    111
    Yes I forgot to mention I had tried the "repair" before I downloaded Firefox.

    I just did the Safari reset, both Amazon and Ebay are back to what I've always had (until the last week or so) I get about 95% of the page loaded (usually everything but pictures) and it just kinda sits there spinning and nothing happening, push stop and reload and it will (usually) load the full page.

    As far as my connection, I'm probably not smart enough to answer that question. I just turn on the computer, open the browser, and surf

    We use these people for our connection, and have a Buffalo brand router hooked to the desktop and 3 laptops (2PC and the Mac) the Mac is the only one with the Amazon, Ebay problem

    If you need to know anything technical, you'll have to speak S L O W L Y and pretend your talking to a toddler
    my goal in life is to be as good a person as my kids think i am

    life is short, even in it's longest days

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Tokiwadai, Japan
    Posts
    2,882
    Is your MacBook Pro using wireless? If so, try connecting using the Ethernet wire and test the speed on various sites. Compare to the wireless speed.

    Not prob...I don't know enough "Geekese" to worry about....

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    ABQ NM
    Posts
    29,092
    Man, I've been waiting months, if not years for this...












    Dude, you should'a got a Dell.

    [Ducks and runs for cover before I get pelted with Apple cores...]
    When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro. - Hunter S. Thompson
    When the weird get going, they start their own forum. - Vaughn McMillan

    workingwoods.com

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    London, Ontario
    Posts
    3,351
    Kevin,

    This sounds very odd. My wife uses a mac mini, and at work we have at least 40+ macs scattered around the lab and I have never heard of speed issues like this.

    Gregg has some good ideas.

    Another thing -- have you got your machine using some sort of filtering software or are you set up to use a proxy? It almost sounds like some parts of the web page (ie: some images may come from another server) are being blocked somehow.

    Is this something that has always been that way on the mac, or did it start happening recently? What software have you installed? Have you made any configuration changes that you can remember? Have you been tweaking the firewall settings under the network control panel? Have you made any changes to your DNS or Network settings? Any tweaks to your DHCP settings?

    Definitely try it with a wire instead of wireless.

    ...art

    ps: Vaughn... Vaughn... Vaughn...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    London, Ontario
    Posts
    3,351
    Kevin,
    I'm at work now, on a 20" iMac (older non-intel model). I almost never use Safari, I use Firefox. But just to try, I fired up Safari and opened amazon.com and then ebay.com and both pages were done before 2 seconds had elapsed.

    More suggestions:

    - open your system preferences, select "Sharing", and then tell us what you have selected under the "Services" tab and the "Firewall" tab. My firewall is turned off, as I use the firewall here at work, and the same at home, we use the firewall built into our Linksys router.

    - again under system preferences, select "Network", then look under the "Airport" location (The "Show" drop-down), and see if you have a Proxy set, or if anything is odd under the TCP/IP settings.

    You could then select "Built-in Ethernet" (that is what you use when you use a cable instead of wireless) and see how those settings compare to the Airport settings.

    - under the Airport, make sure you have the button clicked to show Airport in your menu bar. Then under the airport menu (appears right side of menu bar, near the speaker icon) open "Internet Connect" and see what that shows you -- verify that you are using your own router, and haven't somehow selected your neighbour's wireless router. (you have turned on security in your router I hope, unless you want to give free internet to your neighbours?)

    Hope some of this helps.

    ...art

Similar Threads

  1. Is this Possible?? Browser Question
    By Paul Douglass in forum Off Topic Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-15-2013, 12:34 PM
  2. Opera browser
    By Rob Keeble in forum Off Topic Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-18-2012, 02:28 AM
  3. Browser Based HTML Editor...........or any good NON Front Page editor?
    By Stuart Ablett in forum Off Topic Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-25-2010, 04:09 PM
  4. LSOs Browser Time Outs
    By Stuart Ablett in forum Off Topic Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-15-2009, 01:40 PM
  5. Browser auto resize test
    By Greg Cook in forum Site Questions and Test Posts
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 12-07-2006, 04:43 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •