View Poll Results: Have you added weight to your lathe stand

28. You may not vote on this poll
  • No it worked fine when I set it up

15 53.57%
  • Yes I added weight and noticed an improvement

10 35.71%
  • I just added weight when I set it up so I don't know if it made a difference

3 10.71%
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Do you put additional weight in your lathe stand

Do you put additional weight in your lathe stand

In this post, Bill Simpson shares his views about not needing to put weight in a lathe stand if it is properly designed.

What has been your experience?

I am far from a lathe expert, don't even consider myself a goes my expierience.

Some of you may remember my Oliver 159 lathe restoration a year and a half ago. I had no idea what I was getting into and asked a lot of questions. One was adding was suggested to not do it because if there was not enough weight in the lathe it would "hop" around the shop. I really wanted my lathe to be mobile so I added the casters anyway....the thing never hops a bit, super smooth as a matter of fact.

So....I didn't add any extra weight to the old Oliver and it performed perfectly.....I'm not sure what the effects would be on a smaller lathe since the Oliver is pretty heavy to begin with. But in my eyes the fellas that designed my old Oliver had it designed right, in the first place.
    A very wise man once said.......
    "I'll take my chances with Misseurs Smith and Wesson. "

i just bolted mine to the floor....
    [SIZE="1"] associated with several importers and manufacturers.[/SIZE]

Quote Originally Posted by tod evans View Post
    i just bolted mine to the floor....
    nothing like adding the whole floor to the bottom of your I woudn't think that is overkill
    A very wise man once said.......
    "I'll take my chances with Misseurs Smith and Wesson. "

Quote Originally Posted by Steve Ash View Post
    nothing like adding the whole floor to the bottom of your I woudn't think that is overkill