Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: A very serious wood gloat

Kutztown PA

A very serious wood gloat

Greetings all

I consider myself blessed most of the time - well, all of the time really - with the wood that comes my way. I'm even a little uncomfortable with the word gloat, although I know it is the recognized word for talking about a new acquisition or whatever sort. But here is one I want to share.

I just got home from a trip to the nation's capitol, and demonstrating for two clubs down in the area. One of the "perks" of my occupation is that people like to do nice things for me, and while I was down there, I received an honor that has me just a little nervous for the carrying out of its intent. One of the people who works at the White House bought my DVD a while ago. When he learned that I was coming to visit his club, he wrote and offered me a tour of the White House. I gladly accepted, and was able to bring the family with me. It was a wonderful time, and we got to see some stuff that most people don't get to see close up. We weren't in any top secret locations or anything like that, but we got to go behind the barriers in the public places and see paintings, furniture, and other historical items up close, and with our own Secret Service agent to guide us around. It was truly an honor. But then...

As we came to the end of the tour, my benefactor, who had accompanied us on the tour, pointed out a stump on the White House lawn. It was a scarlet oak tree that had just come down a couple of weeks ago. Can you see where this is going? He got right on it and acquired a bunch of the wood. He went on to tell me that there were several logs waiting for me to take possession, if I was interested.