Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Need help! Taking the web plunge.

Lightbulb Need help! Taking the web plunge.

OK - I'm getting very close to signing up for a hosting service as a first step in getting a web based WW business started. The plan is to sign up now, build the web page (and some inventory) over the next two months, and be ready to 'throw the switch' in early spring. This will not replace my day job! This is a first step in building a supplemental income for retirement - still 9 years away.

Many of you have web sites - I'm a complete novice. I'm looking at Hostmonster as the most likely hosting service - lots of features, good ratings, and low cost. Anyone care to comment?

Also, what are some of the pitfalls I should look out for? What words of wisdom do you 'old hands' have to offer for someone just stepping into the world of eCommerce? Any direction you can offer would be helpful....Really! Any design guidance? Please?
    Host of the 2017 Family Woodworking Gathering - Sunken Wood

“We all die. The goal isn't to live forever; the goal is to create something that will.” - Chuck Palahniuk
    www.wrworkshop.com

Go Daddy
    "Folks is funny critters."

Think for yourselves and let others enjoy the privilege to do so, too. ~Voltaire

Before even checking out the price and features offered by HostMonster, I wrote up a paragraph about 1&1 -- my hosting service -- including links for [price and features] and [comparison with other services].

But after checking out the [list of HostMonster features] (is all of that really included for only $5.95 a month?!?) I'm inclined to say that you've found a darn good service.

The only 1&1 features that stand out next to that list are
    * 3 free domain names (at the Business level) instead of 1 ... but how many are you going to need?
    * Option of Microsoft-based hosting if you're into that sort of thing
    * The ability to pay even less (for fewer features)